TV Reviews: Believe, Continuum, Crisis, Once Upon A Time, Star-Crossed

Believe 1.05 – White Noise: It was one of my favorite episodes since the show started. I loved seeing so much of the team together, including Channing. The relationship between Tate and Bo continues to become closer. It is interesting to see how alike they can be in certain ways. The group taking refuge in a church completely reminded me of some Highlander moments, and I found it a nice touch. I liked seeing more of Bo drawing and painting and I hope they continue to explore this angle in her precognition gifts. I loved the scene between the future mother and Tate when she tells him that he was the one Bo asked to bring her plus tortoise, Stanley, back to her. It was an extremely acute and lovely moment. Bo being scared of her power and not wanting it anymore in the end of the episode, doubled with her “freeing” Tate were very emotional moments.

Continuum 3.04 – A Minute Changes Everything: This show is so brilliant, and I know that I tend to say that with every single review I post. I found it interesting to bring back Alec’s brother and how Liber8 still inspire some of the youth. It poses important questions about ideas and means. I also like how we still have glimpses of Kiera’s life in the future (i.e. flash back from the future). It gives further insight into her personality and background. I wonder how downward Carlos might spiral given the scene when he goes to speak to the other Kiera’s corpse at the morgue. I think that using Becky as a bait for Liber8 now that they outed her is going to make for an interesting arc development. The scene where both Alec met was mind blowing and I wonder whether they will ever interact again. I still am unsure of how both Alec will end relating to Emily as I’m a bit confused on that matter.

Crisis 1.03 – What Was Done To You: I missed not seeing Meg Fitch (Gillian Anderson) in this episode, but it was a really solid one. I think that showing how far parents can go to get their children back is a brilliant plot idea. I like how Special Agents Finley and Dunn work together and their team evolves, given the short time they have been working together due to this crisis. I still don’t really care about any of the kids who are held hostages. So the less we see them, the better, for me. I want to be more invested in their well being, but I just don’t really manage to. What matters to me in their survival is for their parents. I like Anton though.

Crisis 1.04 – We Were Supposed to Help Each Other: I understand why Dunn wants no one to interfere in her investigation but I still don’t find her such a pleasant character. In that, I like Finley much more, though they make a great team. I wonder how things will go and whether Meg and her company will be able to find more with her resources now that she got access, thanks to the White House, to further documents. I found the whole affair matter regarding Meg’s former collaborator kind of cliché and a bit lame though.

Once Upon A Time 3.15 – Quiet Minds: I love this show and this episode didn’t disappoint! I’m glad that we get to see more of what happened in that missing year. The explanation of the voices and how Gold saved Neal – at least for a while – was very compelling. I also like how we still see how he cares about Belle (just as in the next episode when she tries to reach out to him). Seeing Neal return was one heck of a shock and I definitely cried when he died. I loved seeing Hook help him get on his way. The day that blasted Wicked Witch will meet her fate won’t come soon enough.

Once Upon a Time 3.16 – It’s Not Easy Being Green: The funeral scene was a beautiful and heart wrenching scene. All of them gathered as they were, it really spoke of family. I was very happy to see Tinker Bell in this episode again as she is a great character. I love her discussion/argument with Regina when Tink realizes that Robin is the one with the lion tattoo. Regina’s line “I think I would remember if my mother told me she had a lovechild with the Scarecrow.” was priceless and made my day. The more I watched Regina and Robin banter the more I loved them together. I like how their interaction is so far and it doesn’t feel rushed as it could have been. I also liked Hook taking Henry to his boat and tell him what he could about his father. I like that while Hook has feelings for Emma he still had genuinely taken care of Neal for years in the past and thus cared for him and Henry too due to that. It was interesting to see some of the Wicked Witch’s history but I still don’t like her though she is a great villain. I still am for sure on Team Regina whenever there is a showdown between Zelena and Regina!

Star-Crossed 1.08 – An Old Accustom’d Feast: This show keeps growing on me with every episode. I found it smart that since they had revealed what the biology teacher was really up to, she approached Julia and then forced her into the deal in this episode. It was better than if they had delayed it too long as it adds to the  general web of influences and political games and threats which are at stake. It was great to see the humans invited to the Atrian celebration. I liked how Sophia understood who Emery was because of the star she created for the Atrian kids. It also made a lot of sense that Roman’s and Sophia’s mother didn’t really see well that the humans were invited, especially Emery, though the explanation of why she showed up later on at the gathering worked well. Drake is becoming a more interesting and layered character and I was happy to see that the Atrian returned from the crate was his mother. Their reunion was a very touching moment. The accidental discovery Emery made because of the Atrian device was a clever plot twist too. And I’m glad that the love triangle is over as I don’t like them.

4 thoughts on “TV Reviews: Believe, Continuum, Crisis, Once Upon A Time, Star-Crossed

Leave a Reply

