Writing, Brainstorming, Catching Up

Today was a day for catching up and discussing/brainstorming with friends. In between my other tasks, a recent post from my friend Rose prompted a lengthy conversation with her and also Hannah about topics ranging from reading to remakes, including Terminator and Batman. That reminded me how much I had two projects related to Batman movies, a paper about the Dark Knight Trilogy and an eBook about female characters in all Batman movies. I don’t have time to work on that now, but it gave me a lot of good food for thought. And with all the exchange I had with Rose and Hannah, I have enough material for an actual post some time this month, I think!

I also had the lovely surprise of seeing Helka stopping by to say hello on my blog tonight and I am thrilled to be back in touch with her. I am looking forward to more discussions about research work and lots of Yoko Tsuno ramblings (and fangirling as well). I mentioned it before but I really enjoy how WordPress has become one of my favorite social platforms (along with Twitter as ironic as it might sound). I find it practical to stay in touch and get to discover new people’s work as well.

In between wrapping Christmas presents and other things today, I wrote the introduction for my fifth book chapter, and things are clearer in my mind about how to approach this piece about Cameron in Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, with comparison points with Blade Runner and the re-imagined Battlestar Galactica. I’m going to start the first section of the chapter after I finish this post.

Oh and December 18, 2013 means that we have exactly two years to go before seeing Star Wars Episode VII; and it made me giddy! I am pretty optimistic about it, because having had serious issues with some of the Expanded Universe a few years ago, my politic is that what I don’t like in the Star Wars universe get ignored by my mind. So, I might or might not like the new movies, but more Star Wars is always the opportunity to hope for more goodness!

And just for that, I’m sharing my Star Wars video Heroes again:

7 thoughts on “Writing, Brainstorming, Catching Up

  1. Rose F

    WordPress reminds me of the way that LJ used to be in the old days, before it started going downhill.Also, I did finally manage to get some work done, and it’s going well. I’m glad I could encourage your muses.

    Like

    Reply
  2. njmckay

    I am just finishing up my first year on WordPress and I really came to love it, though there is still so much more I can do on it that I don’t know yet but that will be for next year.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I joined in June, and I also feel I could do much more, but as you say, it can wait next year! I’m still pondering on my layout, but I can’t find another one that really suit me, so sticking with this one for now.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

