TV Review: The 100 (Season 1)

I had tried The 100 as soon as it started airing. I really enjoyed the first two episodes, loved the concept and was curious to see how things would evolve. Yet, the third episode ending with one of my few favorite characters dying (Wells) and the following one, left a sour taste in my mouth. I stopped watching afterwards. I knew that I would eventually finish the season, but I was far from excited. When the show got renewed for a second season, I felt as if I should like it, because it is Science Fiction and because other shows I enjoyed didn’t get renewed.

When I had to rest for a week, I had m huge TV show catch up list waiting for me. Weirdly, I picked The 100, so I would get it over and done with. That was the mindset.

Most importantly, it was one inspired decision! I got hooked on the show even more than when I first watched the pilot! I am in deep love with it. It really does feel as a mix between Battlestar Galactica, Oblivion and After Earth. I was concerned that the show narrative would get stuck into dead ends at times, but it didn’t really do so. I was impressed with how it developed and had so many powerful moments, including about human kind as a whole.

I cried quite a few times and in not so expected moments. Chancellor Jaha was an amazing leader figure in this season, and I am blown away with how Marcus Kane became such a compelling character too. The biggest strength of this show is how they turned characters that I found either uninteresting or outright annoying into solid and great ones, even when it took half the season if not more. That was some character development to say the least! I would have never thought it would be the case when I started watching the show, but my favorite character, without hesitation, is Bellamy. And I ship him so hard with Clarke.

Source: The 100 Wiki.

Source: The 100 Wiki.

I love the diversity, in gender, age, ethnic background and personalities. The 100 does a wonderful job with it and all flows naturally in this regard. I like how the show focuses on both the younger characters and the older generation. I think it is important they do this in terms of storyline, especially as it makes things more cohesive. The same way, I had never expected the different people considered grounders to be so diverse and have so many groups within them. That was a positive surprise.

Is it season 2 yet?

7 thoughts on “TV Review: The 100 (Season 1)

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    I think I’m on about season 5 of this show. And I had a bit of a sad moment when Wells died! I actually didn’t see it coming, which is rare for TV shows, as they are quiet obvious sometimes 😀

    It’s going well so far, and I think the characters are a lot different to other shows at the moment.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I also thought that you meant episode 5. 😉 Yes, Wells’s death was a huge blow for me. It gave me a hard time to keep up,but I am glad that I continued, for I4m in big love with it! Glad that you enjoyed it too!

      Like

      Reply
  2. thejedilibrarian

    Bellamy and Clarke? I haven’t thought of that. I too love how Kane turned out not to really be the bad guy. And the ending! Oh my God! I’m so glad there will be a season two, I was worried. I agree with your final points I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Yes, Bellamy and Clarke. It just hit me a few times. Agreed on Kane! I was impressed with his development as well. No kidding about the ending! I want season 2 right now!

      Like

      Reply
  3. The Wookiee Gunner

    I desperately need season 2! I think it comes back in the Fall? Maybe I’m hoping it does. Oh gosh, I just need it now!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment