The Digital Quill Answers: “Have you ever been disturbed by one of your characters. If so, how did you handle it?”

Have you ever been disturbed by one of your characters. If so, how did you handle it?

Yes, it has happened to me, though mostly in my roleplaying experience. There are certain things I don’t see myself writing in my own books, but the roleplaying with friends is more like an experimentation playground to me, so I can be more lenient in running with what the characters can do.

Yet, I found that some of my characters are darker than I first expected them. I have learned to accept the darker parts of them and it has often served the story or the universe they were in. One of my roleplaying character who has extensive abusive history will even become the main character of a trilogy I am planning in a science fiction original verse. Her material is amongst the darkest I have dabbled with but I love her character development.

I also have some compelling villains that I will bring to the forefront of some stories, although they don’t consider themselves villains and believe in what they do. Some of them scare me to be honest, but at the same time I find them fascinating.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

4 thoughts on “The Digital Quill Answers: “Have you ever been disturbed by one of your characters. If so, how did you handle it?”

  1. Robin Rivera

    I understand exactly what you mean. I tend to go pretty dark in my writing, but even I went too dark with a character over the summer. I ended up deciding I wanted to handle the character with a dark under tone, but with a outer appearance that is lighter. I felt I needed to do that to make the other relationships work. I didn’t see my other characters being friends with someone who was a jerk most of the time. I’m glad your darker character turned into one you love.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I remember you mentioning how things were going pretty dark in your writing project. I am glad that you could handle things to make the story and relationships work. There are things I am just not willing to include in my stories. If a character is really dark but makes sense, even in the relationships they can have with others, I can keep it, especially if there is complexity and character growth. I try to avoid gratuitous development/traits, no matter what.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Alex Hurst

    Great question! And yes, I have definitely been disturbed by some of my characters… but, I allow them to breathe out their truths on the page, and do little if nothing to filter them (unless it’s simply not appropriate for the genre, then CUT!) I think it’s important for fiction to be honest, even if it’s ugly at times. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I have no problem delving into dark topics, but at the same time I always choose not to go beyond PG-13 as an author. And there are certain themes I don’t want to write about in my stories. It doesn’t limit me much though, so that’s a good thing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

