The Digital Quill Answers: Did you ever have ideas at the most inopportune time?

As writers we are often inspired to write at the most inopportune times – can you share a story when this happened to you (like driving a car, in the middle of a lecture, operating heavy machinery!)

I have stopped counting how many times it has happened to me! This is why I always have a notebook and a pencil wherever I go! I always have ideas at random times, including during classes, conferences, waiting for a doctor appointment…

I’m also used to my muses coming to life right when I’m trying to sleep. While writing Clairvoyance Chronicles Volume One, my villain decided to finally talk to me at 1am. So I had to get back up, listen to him rambling about what he has been up to since Stone Age (yes, you read that right) and found out about several big conflicts in the supernatural community thanks to him.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

9 thoughts on “The Digital Quill Answers: Did you ever have ideas at the most inopportune time?

  1. Solveig

    Mine are like that too, but my daughter and fiancé won’t really appreciate me getting up in the middle of the night. So quite often I just hope that the info can stay in my head until the next morning…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Being single and childfree, as well as insomniac, tend to be practical for such things. Of course, my muses show up right when I may get actual sleep. It’s writing/revising, I tend to do while up because of insomnia. The ideas like to happen when I could get rest.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jowensauthor

    Yeah, I always try to have a notebook or some paper and a pen with me, too, because I’ll randomly get ideas. I get them, too, sometimes when I’m about to fall asleep. Or I’ll have a dream that I think would make a good story, and then forget most of the details before I get a chance to make notes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      It’s weird how I prefer typing when writing but hand writting when taking notes. I love notebooks and having one within reach at all times is important. It is a good point about dreams as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. mbarkersimpson

    I feel your pain! My characters keep me up at night too, though most of the time I don’t mind a bit 😉 The worst one for me is when I get an idea while interpreting, and I have to squash it, because there’s already too much information in my head and I only have so much short term memory!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Getting ideas when you absolutely can’t compute more information because of another task is so annoying! I’m not surprised your characters can keep you up at night too. I don’t always mind it, unless it happens right when my insomnia disappear and I could sleep. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

