WordPress Input Needed

Since I have started using WordPress a little over two years ago, I have never regretted using it as my blogging platform. Yet, I have grown frustrated with my layout/theme for the past while. I have tried to check a few others out but I’ve not been convinced.

I need to have an extensive side bar, like I have now, to put several items in it. My menu bar on top doesn’t have so many categories, so it’s easy to find a theme that allows for that. I’m just not sure of what I could pick (free) theme wise. So, I’m looking for suggestion for a blog that isn’t image-oriented (there are pictures in all my posts but besides Silent Sunday, I very rarely have picture-only posts).

I was also wondering whether having my own domain prevented me from using the WordPress software. I never used any pluggins because I only worked with the online dashboard so far. I’ve been thinking about going for WordPress download and possible pluggins, so I could also do some CSS edits. At the same time, I’ve not touched any coding in several years and my only experience with it was to update my old website when somebody else had created the layout.

So, I’m hoping fellow WordPress users have some input to share. Thank you in advance!

Source: Unknown.

Source: Unknown.

17 thoughts on “WordPress Input Needed

  1. Rebecca Bradley

    I’m thinking you’re using the free WordPress site, WordPress.com? You could consider moving to WordPress.org as that would give you an awful lot more options on site layout but you would have to pay a monthly hosting charge. I have been thinking about making this change myself but I worry about changes in general… But I may still do it yet but it will take me longer. I do want the versatility though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I have a Premium WordPress.com site indeed (so I avoid the ads). I also have my own domain. I will need to look further into WordPress.org but monthly hosting charge isn’t an option for me at this point, due to other costs (as I think that the montly charge may be greater than what I pay for my premium account here per year). And the migration cost would also need to be considered as I think I’d need to do this if I went to WordPress.org. Thank you for your input!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you for your comment! And no, I hadn’t checked out this one yet! It might be worth a try. I’m a little concerned about the big picture attached to each post and whether mine would always fit, but otherwise, it looks like something I would like using! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Rose F

    Having your own domain shouldn’t be a problem, the thing is you’re using WP.com instead of self-hosted WP.org that allows for plugins and more customization (but lacks support.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you for your comment! I’ve had my own domain for 5 years, so that’s okay. It’s possible monthly hosting costs that might be problematic. And until this post and the comments, I didn’t realize that only WP.org allowed for plugins. I’m glad I’ve learned that now!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          Would you mind letting me know how much you pay for this yearly then (either here or privately, of course)? If the cost is close to what I pay for my Premium account on WP.Com, it could be a viable option for me, though the migration cost would probably be problematic.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. NotAPunkRocker

    I was self-hosted for a while but I really didn’t like the fact that I lost a lot of readers because they didn’t migrate over on the lists very well (not sure if it has improved now) and the lack of support.

    I like the Sorbet theme, which is what i had for quite a while, because it doesn’t take any of your images and force them into a featured image category and it still had a decent sidebar area. Next would be Splendio, which had sidebars and good footer space too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you for your input! I almost used the Sorbet theme a couple of times but not sure why I didn’t pick it in the end. I’ll check it out again, as well as Splendio. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. NotAPunkRocker

        Do you have the customization package on here? I did break down and buy that because, well, color, but the thing with sorbet is the default font is lighter grey. Before I bought the upgrade for customizing I just changed the font color in all my posts before publishing them so they could be read easily ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I’m a Premium WordPress.Com user so I’ve always been able to customize my theme’s color. So, the original color of a theme doesn’t really matter to me as long as the organization is functional for my needs. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

