The Digital Quill Answers: “Are there any scenes which you find difficult to write?”

Are there any scenes which you find difficult to write; action, romance, loss and tragedy, etc.?

Combat scenes have been very difficult for me when I switched to writing in English. They are the only ones I originally was more comfortable writing in my native language (French). I am not sure why. I learned to write them thanks to my roleplaying experience, and the help of fellow posters on the forum. Now they are more natural, but the shorter they are, the better. They are not favorites to write at all.

Any scene involving children characters are complicated for me too. My experience with children is limited and I have a hard time figuring out the right development for them. I have been pushing my boundaries though and in my upcoming Fantasy project, Clairvoyance Chronicles, a couple of children characters show up.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

10 thoughts on “The Digital Quill Answers: “Are there any scenes which you find difficult to write?”

  1. neeluraut

    I find the love scenes quite difficult. As also the geographical descriptions ….both however due to the same reason,that I find them easier to experience than to describe. easier to read than to write…
    The love scenes seem too personal and the geographical descriptions too impersonal!
    With the love making I fear sounding hackneyed and in environmental descriptions I am afraid the reader would lose interest as I sometimes do.
    ” Do you skip the lengthy illustrations of natural surroundings?”
    ….guilty as charged!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Love scenes can be difficult as well though I never get “too far” in my own stories and tend to pull the curtain relatively quickly, using a lot of ellipse.

      I can easily get carried away with descriptions, including geographical. I’ve been working on getting better balance in the last years. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I know what you mean! And I don’t wish to get graphic in my writing so I will not include love making scenes in my books. This doesn’t make me comfortable as a writer. I enjoy developing close relationships, including romantic ones, but don’t need to have sexual content. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Oh my characters are plenty happy. :p The evil ones between my characters and their writer are the first ones! One of them even had a tendency to show up at 1am to tell me what he has been up to since Stone Age!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. neeluraut

        i had one who claimed to be my alter ego!
        She was appalled when i refused to believe her…
        she then spread malicious rumours about me and started entering every story that I wrote..and stealthily started gaining centrality!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. mbarkersimpson

    Fight scenes can certainly be challenging, and I agree with you about the length. It’s so much harder if it’s a lengthy battle! I haven’t incorporated children much into my work, but I can completely appreciate your comment about the developmental stages 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I don’t have the stamina to write long fight scenes, though I’m better at them. Writing first person for Clairvoyance Chronicles definitely helped! Adding more children characters is quite a challenge!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Leave a Reply

