The Digital Quill Answers: “Are there any genres, or subjects you would never write about as an author?”

Are there any genres, or subjects you would never write about as an author?

I don’t think I would ever write poetry because I am comfortable only with prose.

In terms of genres, I would never write horror (some elements can show up in certain stories but I couldn’t write an actual horror one). I would never write erotica either, or anything with graphic sex scenes. I makes me too uncomfortable and I normally write PG-13 stories.

Subject-wise, I am unsure if there is anything I would never write about.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

Background by Rose B. Fischer.

23 thoughts on “The Digital Quill Answers: “Are there any genres, or subjects you would never write about as an author?”

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Good luck with your horror project! I have never got into this genre (though have watched/read stories that include elements of it) so writing it isn’t going to happen. It is great that everyone can write in the genre(s) they enjoy.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Sue Vincent

    I don’t think there is anything I wouldn’t write about… as long as I have something I feel needs to be said, either as a writer or a human being ( the two may occsionally be mutually exclusive, especially when I’m out of coffee…)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. mbarkersimpson

    I adore poetry, but I can relate to your comment because it is just plain hard! I’m so comfortable with prose that when I try to write a poem it frustrates me when my muse shrugs her shoulders and gives me a ‘don’t look at me’ expression. I’ve recently challenged myself by taking part in blogging events to practice, and even though it’s getting easier, I’m resigned to the fact I will never be a poet! Thanks for sharing your answers. You know I love this feature πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I used to love poetry when a child (even wrote poetry back then, not just read it). These days, I am amazed by people’ talents at poetry but it isn’t a genre I really read. My muse would have the same expression as yours if I ever thought about writing any! Good luck with the blogging events! I’m glad that the practice does you good. I’m happy that you’re enjoying this feature! You certainly helped bringing it to life! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. sepultura13

    Prose and poetry are difficult – once in a while I can be inspired, but those times are few and far between.
    Otherwise, romance novels / “bodice-rippers” and westerns are probably the only things I would never write.
    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Westerns! This is another genre I am unlikely to write though it isn’t a finite decision like horror or erotica. I like having romance subplots in my stories but an actual romance narrative isn’t really up my alley either.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I don’t read erotica either so writing it would be too weird for me. I also prefer sticking to PG/PG-13 stories since I span from children stories to grown up ones. I know some authors use multiple pen names but I prefer keeping everything with my real name. It makes it easier to me, especially since I am lucky that my fiction and my nonfiction fall within the same genres/subjects.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. noelleg44

    Erotica, definitely, although there are now patches of it in a lot of romance novels. The thought of writing it makes me giggle, And no horror – I would scare myself! I have written poetry but when I was a lot younger. Maybe I was less inhibited then?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Even patches of erotica would be a no go for me. I am uncomfortable at the thought of writing it. My characters can scare me enough that I don’t want to write actual horror either! I also used to write poetry when younger (before I turned 10). I wonder whether it has anything to do with inhibition as well.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

