Real Neat Blog Award

real-neat-blog-awardMelissa and Hannah surprised me with two nominations for the Real Neat Blog Award on the same day! Thank you very much! May I also say that having only one (hard!) set of questions to answer is awesome? It is!

1. What is the #1 most played song on your iPod (or other listening device)?

I have been listening to the Mass Effect soundtrack for countless hours over the last months. It has become one of my favorite go-to music for writing. To finish a project with a bang, I switch to Star Wars: Throne Room and Finale. It has been a ritual since my higher education days!

2. What is one of your favorite quotes?

  • May the Force be with you. – Star Wars
  • The lyrics from Let Your Light Shine (Bethany Dillon), Le Blues du Businessman (Starmania), Here’s to us (Halestorm), Senorita (Jean-Patrick Capdevielle), Book of Love (Dar Williams) and many more!

3. If you were immortal for one day, what would you do?

Give up on sleep to have more time for doing other things.

4. What’s the most recent movie/book you’ve seen/read? Tell us about it.

The last movie I saw was Sapphire Blue (the day after watching Ruby Red). I haven’t read the books but enjoyed the movies a whole lot more than I expected! I can’t wait for the third one to come out and plan to get my hands on the novels in the meantime.

I am currently reading Fairy Tales and Feminism: New Approaches (edited by Donald Haase). I’ll have probably finished reading it by the time this post goes online. There is a lot of fascinating material in this book. To anyone interested in Fairy Tales, I highly recommend it!

5. What have you always wanted to study (but never had the time)?

Russian, Spanish, Portuguese and Greek.

My nominees are:

As always, if you don’t do blog awards, simply consider this a token of my appreciation!

My questions for you are the following:

  1. If you could adapt one book for the big screen, which one would it be?
  2. Do you have a favorite blogging tip?
  3. What is your favorite genre to read?
  4. Which season is your favorite?
  5. What is your dream vacation destination?

16 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. The Story Reading Ape

    Firstly – CONGRATULATIONS!
    Secondly – THANK YOU for this NEAT Award Natacha – it goes to the top of my cluttered Awards Display Cabinet πŸ˜€
    Thirdly – I’m honoured to be listed with those other four GREAT folks πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you! And you are so welcome for the award! You do so much for the writing community! πŸ˜€ I’m glad it’ll join your cluttered award display cabinet! And it’s lovely you’re enjoying the company!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. beth teliho

    Congrats!! Very exciting indeed. Thank you so much for choosing me among a sea of incredible bloggers. I’m in wicked-talented company.
    Since I know I’ll never ever ever have time for a blog awards post again, I’d love to answer your questions here!
    1. Order of Seven, of course! πŸ™‚
    2. The secret to blogging “success” is networking. Visit other blogs and comment << that's your calling card.
    3. I love mysteries
    4. Fall
    5. Greece.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. lrconsiderer

    Ohhhh THANK YOU! Wow that’s a cool award! I really like that you’d study languages – that’s brilliant.

    I’m gonna answer quickly here and then maybe do a while post at some point (I tend to get to these things a couple of months later and I always feel bad about that!)

    1. If you could adapt one book for the big screen, which one would it be? – At the moment I think the book I’d most like to see adapted is Dear Stephanie (sorry Beth!) because it’s gorgeous and I’d love to see how a challenging character like Paige could be portrayed in a sympathetic way.

    2. Do you have a favorite blogging tip? – Build community, make connections, generate friendships – otherwise why bother to write?

    3. What is your favorite genre to read? Fact – memoirs or science/nature books. I LOVE Gerald Durrell – his Corfu trilogy are probably my all-time favourite books EVER! The level of description is so rich you can feel it. He’s a huge inspiration for my own style.

    4. Which season is your favorite? SUMMER! ALWAYS SUMMER! I love blue skies and SUNSHINE and warm weather and light late in the evening and WARMTH and SUN (and did I mention sunshine?)

    5. What is your dream vacation destination? My ‘bucket list’ places are Mauritius, the yellow mountains in China, New Delhi in India, and Corfu. Magical places I’ve read about and fallen in love with their landscapes through words and experiences shown through books. I doubt the realities would live up to the fantasies I have.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      You’re welcome! I had to nominate you! I love languages though when you don’t practice them, the knowledge really fades away (though not the understanding, at least to me). No problem about answering here! I’m happy to read your answers. OMG you love Corfu and want to go there! I hope you can. I went there for a week in 2009 and fell in love with the island! So beautiful and peaceful! New Delhi in India is on my bucket list of places to visit too! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. lrconsiderer

        Ohhh is it beautiful? Because I’ve only read about it, but also heard that now it’s very touristy and the old ways are quite ruined by modernisation and that makes me feel rather sad, and as though if I went, it wouldn’t be the experience I want. I think I love the Corfu of 80 years ago…

        Like

        Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          It is beautiful and not that touristy. I went there in May, so outside of the big touristy time, so that might be why. Everything’s in flowers and there are so many scheduled places. Some areas are crowded, but they’re a fraction of what there is to see. So it was very much worth it! In a way, it’s like how people say that Ibiza is just for clubbers. I used to go there for holiday with my parents when I was a little girl and it was just nice and laid back and I had zero idea of the reputation of the island until I was a teen and was so shocked!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. lrconsiderer

            So perhaps if I went (ha! after I grow a money tree and take a job as a well-paid rich-person!) I should stay away from the touristy areas and explore the Old Island. Those are the bits which I think would be most similar to how Gerald Durrell experienced it, and I would LOVE that.

            I think I would like to learn another language, but probably French, because I know a little already and I’d LOVE to be fluent.

            Like

            Reply
            1. Natacha Guyot Post author

              You easily avoid the touristy areas. I think that what matters most is going in April/May or September, not June/July/August so things are quieter but more places are open anyway as it’s still the “high” season. πŸ™‚ I really hope to go back to Corfu! French is a beautiful language and I’m not saying that because it’s my mother tongue. πŸ˜‰

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. lrconsiderer

                French is GORRRGEOUS. I have a friend who speaks it fluently, and when she’s in French mode, even when she’s arguing, she sounds INCREDIBLE.

                April sounds good to go. I’d avoid the autumn weather then, too. Ohhh if you love Corfu I URGE you to find Durrell’s books and read them, because I’d dearly love to know if your reality matches up to his memories…

                Like

                Reply
  4. Sacha Black

    ahh shucks thank you so much πŸ™‚ I am absolutely honoured πŸ™‚ ❀ I am just about to make a page as I have a few nominations so I shall be sure you thank you graciously again there. I am also going to go to iTunes and have a listen to that mass effect album πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

