Rose B. Fischer: Fangirls Just Wanna Have Fun (Discussing the Lighter Side of Fanfiction)

Designed by Rose B. Fischer.

Designed by Rose B. Fischer.

Hello, everyone.  Many of you probably know me from over on my blog, rosebfischer.com.  Either way, I’d like to take a minute to introduce myself and thank Natacha for inviting me to guest post here on Science Fiction, Transmedia, and Fandom.

I’m Rose. I write speculative fiction, and I blog about nearly everything, including books, pop culture, and storytelling.

In the last year or so I’ve been writing and blogging a lot about social issues like Disability Awareness and homelessness.  If you’re interested in those topics, feel free to pop over and visit.

I write original fiction, and I also post fanfiction under the pen name of Lionchilde.  The biggest two fandoms that I write for are Star Wars and Stargate: SG-1.  I’ve completed (but not yet published) 3 original novels.  At last count, my fanfiction.net account had 97 stories published in various fandoms. Six of them are epics that took several years to complete.

If you know me at all, you know that I take my fanfiction very seriously. I don’t consider it “practice” or any less important than my original work in terms of the time, effort, and commitment I give it. So most of my posts about fanfic have been of a serious nature. This time, I thought it would be interesting to look at the lighter side of creating fanfiction.

A lot of people ask me why I write it. I have a lot of reasons.  Most authors have more than one reason for wanting to write something. For fanfiction authors, our motivations vary a lot from person-to-person. The one thing I think we can all say is that we write fanfiction because we want to — because it’s fun.

I have six posts for you that will run on Tuesdays, every two weeks from May to July.  I’ll be talking about some of my own work, mostly in the Star Wars fandom, and sharing my thoughts about general perceptions of fanfic and the people who write it.

***

Rose B. Fischer is speculative fiction author and creative entrepreneur. Her current project is The Foxes of Synn, a low-tech science fantasy serial. Click here for more information. She is a survivor of domestic violence who lives with multiple disabilities. In the early 2000s, she became homeless after leaving her abusive spouse. She later entered a transitional housing program while attending college. These experiences inspired her to begin writing non-fiction, and have had lasting impacts on her approach to fiction writing. She publishes science fiction, science fantasy, horror, and biographical essays. On her website, she writes about the intersection of storytelling, social responsibility, art, and pop culture in the internet age. She also offers custom designs and templates for indie authors, musicians, and other muse-herders. Her website, rosebfischer.com, features a growing collection of free and pay to use stock art, as well as tutorials and many other features for writers, artists, readers, and viewers.

8 thoughts on “Rose B. Fischer: Fangirls Just Wanna Have Fun (Discussing the Lighter Side of Fanfiction)

  1. mbarkersimpson

    Thanks for sharing this with us, Rose. If I’m completely honest, I don’t know much about fan fiction, so I’m really looking forward to your posts. The only experience I have, and it was several years ago, is taking part in a short story contest. Writers were tasked with taking a favourite character and putting them in a certain situation. Given that I’d just watched Sleepwalkers at the time, the character I chose was Clovis (the cat). I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun. So I can completely relate to that. Also, I often change the endings of books/movies in my head, or even particular scenes, so I guess that’s a similar thing. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
      1. mbarkersimpson

        The basic premise was that a character of our choice (a favourite of somebody else’s) woke up to realise they were in a burning building. It was fun. I’ve often thought of doing something similar for my writing prompt series. I’m currently developing the series, so maybe I should make it an element 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
  2. Mei-Mei

    I love fanfiction, though I haven’t written any in a while. Star Wars is my favorite universe to write in; I have a group of original (non-Jedi) characters. Looking forward to this series!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Rose B. Fischer: Fangirls Just Wanna Have Fun (Discussing the Lighter Side of Fanfiction) | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

