My Writing Battle Plan

Happy weekend! I am taking a short break from my current short fiction to post an update of where I’m at in terms of writing projects. I am excited to say that I have been fairly productive since January!

I didn’t expect my return to original fiction to be in the shape of short stories (so far) and so busy! Since the beginning of the year, I have written 11 short stories and have 3 more planned before mid May (one I am set on finishing tonight). I have decided to submit my first Clairvoyance Chronicles collection (10 related short stories) to publishers, instead of self publishing. I hope that it will go well!

My other short stories (stand alone in two different universes) are all submitted to contests or will be shortly. I am also crossing fingers that at least part of them will be chosen for publication!

Once I am done with short story rampage (writing/revising/editing/submission) mid May, I am planning to work on getting acquainted with CreateSpace, to bring two of my self published titles to print. I mastered KDP and Smashwords formatting, so that should be doable. I already have my ISBN!

Afterwards, I have two nonfiction projects (to be self published) on my to-do list (mid May-August writing). One will be about The 100 (the TV show not the books) and the other will be about the Star Wars Prequel Trilogy, and why it matters and shouldn’t be forgotten.

This is the main part of what is going to happen in my writing life in the upcoming months, but it isn’t everything. There are a few other things that might pop up, depending on how things unfold.

Photo Credit: Jeff Sheldon.

Photo Credit: Jeff Sheldon.

10 thoughts on “My Writing Battle Plan

  1. Kat

    Wow, that is really impressive. I love reading short stories but I’m horrible at writing them. Coming up with a concise enough idea and executing it in a way that engages the reader’s emotions… it’s hard to do in a short span (at least for me.) So serious kudos on getting 11 done in 4 months! I hope your projects continue to go well. Good luck with the contests!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you for your kind words and well wishes! πŸ™‚ I never thought I could write short stories when I used to write original fiction before my 10 year break. I am the first surprised! It helps me a lot working on stories. I look forward to do novellas and novels again at some point, but I know that short stories will remain something I do. I think it might be due to how I do shorter pieces (between 3k and 10K) for nonfiction (even when it’s a book, I write one chapter at a time on a given angle of the overall topic). πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you! If you’d like to get a look at some of my short stories outside of Clairvoyance (my series) let me know. This can be arranged. πŸ˜‰ And thanks for the editing software link! I used it before but had lost the link! πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

