Thursday Title – Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey

The men who rode the dragons were a breed apart. Chosen when the dragons were first hatched, they became soulmates for life with the huge, magnificent beasts they controlled – the green, blue, brown and bronzes – beautiful – terrible – the only creatures who could defend the planet Pern from the blood-red star. But without the Queen, the dragons would become extinct. Only the gigantic, golden Queen could breed the new flights. And the Queen was fading . . . dying . . . leaving behind one last, huge, golden egg. Dragonflight is the first book in Anne McCaffrey’s world-famous Chronicles of Pern and has been in print since its first publication in hardcover 30 years ago. – Amazon

I started reading Dragonriders of Pern when in my early teenage years. My mother had the first two in beautiful French editions. I eventually read most of the following in paperback, mostly in French but a few in English, as I became able to read in this language too. The world fascinates me and until now, Anne McCaffrey remains one of the most influential authors on my fiction writing. I am still in awe of her world building and other narrative skills and talent.

Source: Goodreads.

Source: Goodreads.

7 thoughts on “Thursday Title – Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I love the Harper Hall trilogy. My favorite books in the Dragonriders of Pern are the first 2, the Harper Hall trilogy and a couple others like All the Weyrs of Pern. I can’t remember the other title from the top of my head. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Kat

    The timing on this post is great; I just skimmed through “Dragonsinger” last night! It’s my goal to read all of the Dragonrider’s of Pern books in chronological order. (Although the trilogy beginning with “Dragonflight” and the Harper Hall Trilogy remain my favorites. ‘All the Weyrs of Pern” and “The Masterharper of Pern” are good too.) I can’t believe they’ve been in print for 30 years… it’s astonishing.

    Thank you for giving this geat series some love!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Always happy to see other fans of this great series! I still have more to read (I think I might have read about half of it so far and I don’t have all the books, though I think I have all that Anne McCaffrey wrote, maybe one collaboration with her son). Happy that my timing was good too! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

