TV Review: Orphan Black

The first times I saw trailers for Orphan Black, I didn’t feel like watching the show. I read about it, and friends recommended it, but I just didn’t check the series out. What eventually drew me to it is the lead actress, Tatiana Maslany. I liked her interviews and she intrigued me. Ironically, I used the actress as an image claim for a Star Wars roleplay character I created end of 2014, before I even saw a full episode of Orphan Black.

Once I saw the pilot, I think I watched the first two seasons within the next three days. I was hooked and I wanted to know more. I am more excited for Orphan Black season 3 than for Game of Thrones season 5. I wasn’t sure of what I would think, but I didn’t expect to find the story so interesting. The characters have a lot of depth and despite the darkness of the narrative, there is a lot of humanity in it.

I absolutely love Felix, Sarah Manning’s brother. He made me laugh and cry so many times during the first two seasons and I like seeing him bond with not only Sarah but also Allison. Felix and Allison weren’t a duet I expected to find as great as I do.

All the clones are interesting (though I found Rachel scary and wish we saw more of Tony, the transgender clone) and I couldn’t pick a favorite between Sarah, Elena (I was blown away by the character development she had), Allison and Cosima. They all have something special. I also liked Cosima’s relationship with Delphine and am crossing fingers that we see more of it during the upcoming season.

Source: Orphan Black Wiki.

Source: Orphan Black Wiki.

2 thoughts on “TV Review: Orphan Black

Leave a Reply

