Mailing List/Newsletter Question

I have been doing research about starting a mailing list and newsletter for my blog. I have read that it is an important aspect of maintaing contact with readers. I am starting to have better ideas of how the tech aspect works and what I would write.

I have checked the following options so far: MailChimp, Tiny Letter, MyEmma, ConstantContact. Based solely on features, I would be inclined to start with Tiny Letter because it is free (and the capping number is 5000 subscribers) and I am unsure that I need all the business assets of MailChimp. MailChimp would be alright as until 2,000 subscribers it can remain free, and the money for upgrading is within my financial range, should the list go beyond 2,000.

Yet, another problem has appeared which is probably going to impend any newsletter project, unless I find another way. Per their terms of service, both MailChimp and Tiny Letter have you feature a physical address in your footer. I am not willing to let mine be featured publicly, and a postal box isn’t an option for me at the moment. With even more research, it seems that the physical address is a requirement for all newsletter / mailing list service. I was really eager to start one, but because of this, it will have to wait several months at least. In the meantime, I can continue to gather information.

So, my question is: what service you use for your newsletter (if you have one)? Thank you in advance for any comments/tips!

Source: Unknown.

Source: Unknown.

11 thoughts on “Mailing List/Newsletter Question

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    I didn’t use a service specifically because of having to put a mailing address either. I also worried about having people go through another site to get the newsletter, if the effort would put them off or not.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I’m not worried worried about using an external site to manage my newsletter. It seems to be the norm since people have several options for services. I’m stuck because of the whole physical address thing, since a PO box isn’t an option and I have no other address possible to use for now.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thanks for the info! The P.O. Box isn’t an option for me right now, for several reasons. That’s annoying since I can’t use my personal physical address and don’t have a business one. Thanks for this link! Clarified a few things! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Christy Birmingham

    I don’t use a newsletter. Like you, I don’t want to give out my address either as public info. I wish it wasn’t a requirement for them! Would you be able to use perhaps an address of a family member? I know that’s pretty personal still but just a thought…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

