TV Review: Extant (Season 1)

When I first heard about the Science Fiction TV show Extant, starring Halle Berry, I knew I would check it out. The pitch was limitating though and didn’t reflect the core and spirit of the series though. It seemed that all the trailer and material prior to the pilot airing was about how Berry’s character returned from a solo space mission of 13 months and turned out to be pregnant. It felt reductive. Yes, this weird pregnancy does happen, but it is part of a much larger narrative.

Source: IMDb.

Source: IMDb.

Extant is one of my favorite Science Fiction TV show by now and I was so excited when they confirmed a second season. I know it received mixed reviews, but I found the story brilliant in how it blended different types of Science Fiction stories. There were influences from 2001, A Space Odyssey, Caprica, Terminator, The X-Files and yet Extant was its unique thing. The way it approached alien contact as well as artificial intelligence was brilliant.

The characters weren’t all so appealing at first, though I liked Molly (Halle Berry’s character) from the start. The others grew on me as the season unfolded. I am very curious to see how the second one will pan out.

6 thoughts on “TV Review: Extant (Season 1)

  1. thejedilibrarian

    I agree, it was a very interesting series, and they handled the science fiction elements really well. And I like how this is an unspecified number of years in the future. I can’t remember his name, but the Japanese actor also plays an immortal of sorts in Helix (another great show), and all the other actors did a great job.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      When you start mixing different subgenres, it can get tricky, but they did it really well. I tried Helix, but I just couldn’t watch this. I struggled not to fall asleep. Too bad since for once a show got renewed!

      Like

      Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          Glad that you enjoy it. I’m not too big on medical shows, but I couldn’t care for any of the characters when I tried Helix. I wanted to, but it didn’t happen.

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

