Movie Review: Seventh Son

For my 30th birthday (end of December 2014), my parents took me to see Seventh Son at the movies. I had enjoyed the trailer, especially at second watching. I was very curious to see Julianne Moore in it, though I also liked Jeff Bridges and Djimon Hounsou, whom I knew were in it as well. I admit that I didn’t have high expectations at all.

I was positively surprised, against all odds!

Source: Wardstone Wiki.

Source: Wardstone Wiki.

The visuals were amazing, from landscapes to costumes to weapons. When I saw that the visual effects’ surpervisor was the one and only John Dykstra, I understood a lot. We owe so much to him when it comes to special effects as we know them now!

I had the good surprise to see other familiar faces, both from cinema and TV, in it as well! This list includes: Kit Harington, Ryan Robbins, Olivia Williams, Antje Traue, Jason Scott Lee and Kandyse McClure. I wish that the last one had a more prominent part!

I wouldn’t say this movie makes it to my top ten or twenty, and the whole blood moon and female witchcraft aspects of the story are problematic to a significant degree; but it was an enjoyable watch and was much more interesting than I had first thought it would!

5 thoughts on “Movie Review: Seventh Son

  1. thejedilibrarian

    Did you know this is based on a series of books? The last review I read clearly didn’t know and seemed to be blaming the movies writer for the blood moon parts and for making the villain black, instead of the books’ author.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I looked up the book series and realized I wasn’t interested in reading it. That’s also why I didn’t feel like strangling the movie writer, since it was an adaptation.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thejedilibrarian

        Well, at least you knew! The other reviewer was mad at the casting director for casting a black guy as a bad guy, and the movie writer for the blood moon thing, I didn’t have the heart to tell her the character was probably black in the book and that she couldn’t fault the movie people it wasn’t the their fault.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Leave a Reply

