Movie Review: Interstellar

One thing I have loved these last years is one many Science Fiction movies we’ve been getting. This is pretty exciting to me as it is my favorite genre, even when I enjoy many different ones. I was hoping to enjoy Interstellar, but I had some doubts. While Christopher Nolan is the director who made me like Batman (though The Dark Knight is still the one I liked least), I didn’t like Anne Hathaway in the third movie at all, and I normally like her. I had also liked Matthew McConnaughey in a couple movies, but I wasn’t sure about his performance in Interstellar.

Source: Interstellar Wiki.

Source: Interstellar Wiki.

Yet, I wanted to see it and got to do this end of 2014. What an experience! This movie blew me away and I didn’t see the almost three hours go by! I was quite shaken at the end of the story (which finished “better” and on a happier note than I had thought it would at some point).

This is my favorite Nolan movie and I can’t wait to see it again (and to write papers about it and to vid it!) when it comes out on DVD. The cast was impeccable and there were amazing visuals and wonderful character moments. I was thrilled to see Michael Caine again and Jessica Chastain was also wonderful. One thing I found particularly engaging in the movie were the robots. I loved how the story played on intertextuality and how one almost expect them to be the betraying ones, when in the end betrayal comes from human kind. I couldn’t help being reminded of both HAL in 2001, A Space Odyssey and of course the robots in Douglas Trumbull’s Silent Running.

Watching fifty years of Science Fiction on screen acknowledged, paid tributes to was beautiful, especially as Nolan managed to keep Interstellar its own object, giving his movie a unique place in all this genre’s landscape.

7 thoughts on “Movie Review: Interstellar

  1. CompGeekHolly

    This movie definitely exceeded my expectations. When we went and saw it we did the a dinner movie with full reclining seats which made it a very comfortable three hours. The emotional story that they told was absolutely brilliant and the backdrop being the infinite space made it that much more spectacular.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I loved the pace of the movie too. It took its time developing story and characters. The way it came together so well and with such a strong emotional side made it a great movie. I was surprised of when it ended. I thought that it may stop when the main character is seen floating in space. I liked that they carried on a bit. It felt right.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jsherwin2013

    Natacha: I came across a discussion on Harley Quinn, the Joker’s love interest in the Batman comic series, that I found to be a fascinating discussion of popular female role models. Although I wouldn’t have thought a psychopath could inspire young women in need of role models, apparently that is exactly what this character has done. Here is a link:
    http://www.vulture.com/2014/12/harley-quinn-dc-comics-suicide-squad.html

    I’d love to hear what you think about this character and her effects on young women.

    Jennie

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thank you very much for the link, Jennie! I admit not being so familiar with comic characters, except for their on screen versions (especially Marvel, though slowly getting more into DC as well). I didn’t know so much about Harley Quinn and am a little surprised that she is such a best seller, but I think that it says something significant about strong/complex female characters also mean crazy or even villain type. The diversity is important. I found the part about the redesign/basic sexy type they developed her in for mentioned videogames a bit bothering. It is good that it seems they are returning back to a version closer to her original one. Generally speaking, hero types of figures are important for people to identify with, and these must include a fair share of women. Yet, I think that having wild cards from all genders, including characters like Harley Quinn is also necessary in the narrative landscape. I am not personally very eager to read stories she is in, but if she is featured in DC productions (as I believe an actress was recently cast for either an upcoming series or movies including Harley Quinn), I won’t mind it.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Editorial – We Desperately Need Comics | Comparative Geeks

Leave a Reply

