Video Game Review: Syberia

Syberia is a point and click adventure that takes American lawyer Kate Walker to a small French village. While she was supposed to finalize a simple purchase, of a small local automaton company, things become complicated. She embarks on a journey that will take her further to Eastern Europe and beyond.

SyberiaPicI played both this game and almost all of its sequel when they first came out. I didn’t finish the second one because my computer died then. I plan to play (and finish) within the next months.

The design is lovely and very stylish. The female protagonist is interesting and I love seeing her finding herself as she goes through this troublesome assignment.

One thing I didn’t remember from the game is how much sexism there is in it! I wanted to strangle Kate’s boss, her boyfriend and even her so called best friend, as well as her mother (basically many people she interacts with). It is even weirder because there are some great female characters present or mentioned in the story.

Seeing her eventually cut ties and do her own thing feels liberating. The story for the quest of Hans Voralberg is also very engaging. If you enjoy this type of games, you should definitely check it out!

6 thoughts on “Video Game Review: Syberia

  1. The Chaos Realm

    I saw this game…so, since I’m not very knowledgeable about this sort of thing, what video game “platform” is best to find these sorts of games (PC, Xbox, etc.) for future reference… (I like games like Myst and Riven and I’m really good at solving puzzles, but I don’t have the greatest hand/eye coordination LOL.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I only play videogames on pc (and I play most with keyboard and mouse instead of a gamepad) so every game I’ll recommend/review is available on PC. I joined Steam a few years ago, and they have a lot of available games of all kinds (I like the digital aspect of it even though I still purchase physical copies of some games) and all the sales they have during the year.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

