Movie Review: How to Train Your Dragon 2

How to Train Your Dragon 2 was one of the sequels I was most excited for, given how much I had loved the first movie. The second didn’t disappoint. Some things annoyed me, especially how I was hoping to see the mother take a much prominent role towards the end, given her experience and skills with dragons. I know this is classic for great female characters to go back to the backburner, but I don’t have to consider it normal. Otherwise, she was an awesome addition besides Astrid, who is quite the kick-ass character.

Source: How to Train Your Dragon Wiki.

Source: How to Train Your Dragon Wiki.

The imagination for the dragon species and visuals was as amazing as in the first movie and it was great to continue to see beloved dragons (especially Toothless of course!) partake in new adventures. The diversity of dragons is one of my favorite things in the movies and I thought that the new story was well done for the most part. I liked the idea of searching for other species and eventually explore new places.

Toothless is still the big highlight of the universe and I was heart broken when he was under the spell of the other creature and did certain tragic things. It was so painful for everyone, including for him! I cried a lot for sure.

While I wish they had handled the mother’s arc differently, especially towards the end of the story, I am still looking forward to the next installment in this franchise!

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: How to Train Your Dragon 2

Leave a Reply

