Star Wars: The Force Awakens Official Trailer

When I heard the first official trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens would go online today, I was extremely excited. The trailer went beyond my expectations. While I’d have loved to see some of the old gang show up, I think that keeping them out of this first trailer until a second or third one is actually pretty brilliant.

I had goosebumps and so many feels watching (and rewatching) this trailer. I’ve been a Star Wars fan since I was two year old and Star Wars has always had a significant place in my heart and life.

I was very happy to see three identified characters (not included the Dark side we see from behind that I want to believe can be Gwendoline Christie, until I’m proven wrong! And what a lightsaber!) the first two were a person of color and a female one, thanks to John Boyega and Daisy Ridley. That’s a really strong sign for me and I find it awesome. Isaac Reed piloting his X-Wing was cool and I loved all the scenery and the ships (OMG the Millenium Falcon!). I also think that the voice over should be Max Von Sydow. (edit: it got confirmed it is Andy Serkis, who was my second possible guess).

Getting more Star Wars movies is a treat and I didn’t believe I would get to experience the feels of a new trilogy a second time in my life (I still remember the excitement over the prequels, which I love!).

I can’t wait for more trailers to appear, and I hope that a new one will be released every three months until December 2015.

Source: Legion of Leia.

Source: Legion of Leia.

11 thoughts on “Star Wars: The Force Awakens Official Trailer

        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I saw this about Serkis. It’d make sense since he is actually part of the movie cast. It’s either Max Von Sydow (as the voice is a good match as well) or Serkis. Time will telll!

          Like

          Reply
  1. starwarsanon

    You know, funnily, I immediately thought it was Cumberbatch too. There have been rumors linking him to VII and even though he said he wasn’t in it, maybe he was tricking us by saying he wasn’t in it physically. Perhaps we only get his voice, but his physical presence is in VIII and IX.

    If not, I actually thought it was Andy Serkis.

    My favorite shot was the Daisy Ridley shot 🙂 I thought it was SO reminiscent of Leia on Endor. And I agree, I like that they focused just on the new characters, and didn’t bring in the older ones.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      The new characters being center to this trailer makes us more likely to care for them than if they had included the old ones already (though I’m very excited about both old and new characters!) Daisry Ridley reminded me a lot of Padme in Episode II. I can’t wait for more trailers! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

