Book Review: Writer’s Doubt: The #1 Enemy of Writing (and What You Can Do about It) by Bryan Hutchinson

A few weeks ago I got Writer’s Doubt: the #1 Enemy of Writing (and What You Can Do about It) by Bryan Hutchinson. I have been in the mood to read more books about writing and its related topics. I had already read his free eBook Good Enough: Stop Seeking Perfection and Approval (which I reviewed here). I like Hutchinson’s style and the way he talks about things.

This book was even better than I had expected. I of course deal with writer’s doubt, though I have felt better for the past couple of years as I’ve reached a new stage in my development as an author. Most previous texts I read about it didn’t resonate with me, but Hutchinson’s did. I highly recommend it because I like how practical his tips are and how he offers a wide range of them.

He mentions a few times how people should be kind to one another and to themselves. This is very true and encouraging. The supporting aspect of feedback and inner talk is important and I liked how he included them in his chapters.

Being working on what will be my first self-published book, some of his tips about this aspect of publishing were helpful and comforted me in the path I am taking for this specific project.

Writers-doubt-HB280

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Writer’s Doubt: The #1 Enemy of Writing (and What You Can Do about It) by Bryan Hutchinson

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

