A Galaxy of Possibilities: Discussing Character Writing, Diversity, Star Wars and Fandom – Week 13 – Adan Modries

GalaxyofpossibilitiesLOGO2

Adan Modries, New Republic
SWRPG Wiki Page | Tumblr Gallery

It took me a few years before I created my first male characters. Many writers I know write both women and men, but it was difficult for me to get to the point I would write male roleplaying characters. It is kind of weird because I did write male characters before, both in my original fiction and the few times I dabbed into fan fiction. For example, writing Zekk and Lando Calrissian from the Star Wars universe was always a blast and came to me quite naturally. Adan is the second male character I created at SWRPG, and my oldest active one, since the first I made was one whose deletion I requested. Male characters still are a small fraction of all the ones I write at SWRPG, but I now have three active ones, who are all very enjoyable to write.

When I decided to make Adan, I had the idea for the claim right away: Jeffrey Dean Morgan, and not just because he is one of my favorite actors. I wanted to create a Corellian male character – because I have had a soft spot for Corellians since Han Solo, so why not write one? I think that Jeffrey Dean Morgan is perfect as a Corellian. I was lucky that a friend accepted to share the image claim with me, because I couldn’t imagine Adan looking like anyone else.

adansig

Adan had worked for CorSec for years, until he went through a dark time in his life. With his marriage already in a bad place, finding out that he couldn’t have biological children added further strain, especially as his wife didn’t want to go for adoption. The couple divorced and Adan spiraled down for a while, working some random hired gun jobs. When he realized that he didn’t want to put his whole life through the shredder, he got back to normal as much as possible and then left to join the New Republic Intelligence Services. His specialty still resides in infiltration, interrogation and anything that might require combat. He isn’t much for clerk work, despite his understanding of its importance, nor is he much good at slicing and tech tasks, despite having received training in it.

Having Adan deal with infertility was a twist that came to me very early in the conception, even before I wrote his recruitment thread. In his history, I already had him liking children and getting along with them easily. From there it naturally happened that he found “heart” nieces in different places, besides his sister’s children. He forged close bonds with both a Jedi youngling, now padawan and with a female soldier from the New Republic,  who now holds the rank of Colonel. Through these relationships, I also realized that Adan has an inclination to be a mentor to others, which also gives me new possibilities for him.

I was also very happy when I got the opportunity to have him meet a businesswoman written by a friend. Adan wasn’t the kind of man to go for someone young enough to be his daughter, and I was hoping that he would eventually find a romantic partner again. He and his new flame have great chemistry and entertaining banter. The fact that they both have things they can’t discuss together due to their respective work also made it somewhat easier for them to accept this situation. I am looking forward to the next developments in their relationship. With all of these in character ties to others, I have been able to establish Adan and get a solid direction for him, which led to a big boost of muse over the past year.

  • Do you write characters who served in the armed Forces?
  • Do some of your characters pick up some “adoptive” or “heart” family along the way?
  • Do you have certain types of characters who more easily become mentors, or can it happen to any of them?

One thought on “A Galaxy of Possibilities: Discussing Character Writing, Diversity, Star Wars and Fandom – Week 13 – Adan Modries

  1. Pingback: A Galaxy of Possibilities: Discussing Character Writing, Diversity, Star Wars and Fandom – Week 24: Sebarek Veros | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

