Movie Review: The Lion King II: Simba’s Pride

Source: Disney Wiki.

Source: Disney Wiki.

After recently rewatching The Lion King for one of my papers, I decided to give a try to its sequel, The Lion King II: Simba’s Pride. I am not so familiar with Disney’s sequels to their movies, as I think the only other one I saw before was Jafar’s Return, the sequel to Aladdin. So, I didn’t really know what to expect with The Lion King II. I was positively surprised.

I somehow like the French title better than the original one, as instead of translating it “Simba’s Pride” they used “The Tribe’s Honor”. I think it works well and includes Nala and the others in the influence they had on Kiara, Simba’s and Nala’s daughter.

This sequel was very faithful to the spirit and characters of the originals. Seeing Simba and Nala as an established couple was a treat and them having a daughter made me very happy. I like how Kiara took after both her parents and struggled to find her place and that she wasn’t good at everything just because of who she was. Kiara being a fighter but not such a good hunter was an interesting idea.

Kovu was also a compelling character and I was relieved they said that he was Scar’s adoptive son as I was a bit scratching my head if he had been his biological one. His development was well executed and I liked seeing his bond develop with both Kiara and the rest of her family.

Rafiki was as awesome as in the original movie. The scene where he “talks” with Mufasa without the viewer hearing or seeing Mufasa was one of my favorite. It was hilarious and added a lot to the story.

It was a great watch and I recommend it to any fan of the original movie!

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Lion King II: Simba’s Pride

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    I tend to stay away from Disney sequels, as I haven’t heard great things from many of them. But I might give this a go, if I can get over the trauma of the first one (why must Disney parents always die??)! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. caelesti

    This is the only Disney (cartoon fairy tale) sequel I’ve seen- decided to watch it because of hearing the soundtrack and enjoying the music about as much as the first. I like the French title better too- thanks for sharing that!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

