Book Review: Star Wars: Death Star by Michael Reaves and Steve Perry

Source: Wikipedia.

Source: Wikipedia.

I had purchased Star Wars: Death Star by Michael Reaves and Steve Perry around the time it came out, but only read it over the past weeks. I wasn’t sure that I would enjoy it that much, but wanted to try it out regardless, because of the universe and the authors. I was reading a bit slowly at first, but got really into the story quick enough and devoured the last 300 pages.

I loved seeing more about the people who worked and lived on the Death Star. A lot of solid points about how the destruction of the battle station also provoked so many deaths. It shows how the war has collateral damages, regardless of the “good” and “bad” sides. The gunner in charge of the superlaser was one of the compelling characters, including in the depiction of his doubts about what the weapon actually does.

Seeing the surgeon, Uli, who was present during a couple of Star Wars Clone Wars era novels, was a good surprise. I wasn’t surprised to see him eventually be part of the small group who decided to leave the station, at the risk of their lives. Seeing these individuals from various backgrounds and occupations, including the Mirilian architect Teela Kaarz was something different.

Weaving scenes from the movie was well done. The book also made me more interested in Tarkin, which has me looking forward to the Tarkin centric novel coming in the next few months. The strength of this book is in the character’s personal story and how they are embedded into the larger scheme of things. It was a great read and I enjoyed it more than I had expected.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Star Wars: Death Star by Michael Reaves and Steve Perry

  1. Paul Bowler

    I read this a while ago, I’m not a regular reader of Star Wars books, but this one caught my eye as it was about the Death Star. I really enjoyed reading this and it gave a new slant about events on the battle station. A good book 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mei-Mei

    This one has been on my “to read” list, but I’ve been taking a little break from SW EU books because most of the recent ones I’ve read (except Zahn and Allston) have been so mediocre. I can’t decide if I even want to start reading the new canon ones.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I took a break a few years ago, and now I consider that everything post New Jedi Order doesn’t exist, as well as some author in other parts of the time line. I never regretted picking the SW books again though! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

