Book Review: Write Daily Fiction by Charles Moore

Image courtesy of zirconicusso / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of zirconicusso / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Since I started toying with the possibility of returning to original fiction writing in the near future, I have been reading books about writing craft and self publishing some more. I read posts about such things on a regular basis, but I decided that getting some extra books about the topic didn’t hurt. Write Daily Fiction by Charles Moore is one of my recent picks.

I tend to write (almost) every day and have a schedule that allows me not to rush, and stay ahead of schedules either imposed when I answer call for papers or ones I set myself. Yet, I was curious to read about the tips offered about how to write daily fiction. I have methods that work well for me, but finding out more tricks I can apply or interpret is always good.

One thing I considered after reading this book, shall I start writing short stories, is the option of writing in the first person, which I haven’t done in more than ten years, not since my first novella ever. I normally am not very skilled in such writing, the third person coming to me much more naturally. Yet, I understood how it can tighten the point of view and make the action and narrative more straightforward especially in a short format.

I have no idea whether I will try to write a short story or a paper in a single day, but there is a lot of food for thought in this short book. It is pretty straightforward and I find that many tips are flexible and can be adjusted to your personal craft.

Leave a Reply

