TV Review: Delirium

A few weeks ago a friend of mine let me know about Delirium. While it turned out that the pilot wasn’t picked by its network, and was only made temporarily available online. Since it was Science Fiction, I decided to check it out anyway, since this is the genre I mostly work on as an independent researcher and writer.

Delirium-Pilot

While the story wasn’t revolutionary, I always enjoy when done well, a narrative that shows how a damaged and controlling society can be taken down by these refusing to be locked in corruption. In Delirium, these people are the ones who don’t want to get a cure to prevent them from feeling love as from their eighteenth birthday.

The one thing I had a lot of issue with was how hetero-normative the system was. They’re basically considering that only heterosexual love can happen, which I found bewildering, especially when you have these underground parties for teenagers to attend before they get the cure. I have a hard time believing that only straight romantic or sexual interaction can happen. The same way I find it weird how all the propaganda from the firm taking care of the “cure” only market romantic love, when characters acknowledge how their parents didn’t love them either, and just “went through the motions”. So the whole “love” definition seems weird and narrow minded.

The show still had potential in my view, especially as many seeds were already planted for character development and relationships in this pilot. I am not heart broken that the show wasn’t picked up, but I can still recognize that it could have evolved well.

The best thing in it was to see Corey Reynolds in it! I had adored him as Sgt. Gabriel in The Closer!

11 thoughts on “TV Review: Delirium

  1. Yelena B (@ThePetiteWriter)

    I haven’t seen it, but based on your description of the show, I’m not heart broken that it hasn’t been picked up by the network either. Although I obviously cannot comment on it in detail since I haven’t seen it, the fact that only heterosexual love is portrayed and only the romantic kind would cause plot holes later on in the story for me. The idea of being forbidden to love is interesting, but not as ‘deep’ as I’d like it to be if I were to watch it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Being forbidden/vaccinated not to love was a brilliant idea, but the problem of it being basically romantic heterosexual love was very disturbing to me. It was reductive and difficult to validate since the human kind was basically as it is now, save for that whole vaccine thing. I’m glad I checked the pilot but for once I’m not so sad that something doesn’t continue on TV.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      It had potential, if it had continued, though there were some huge problems with the main ideas right from the pilot. I’m not so sure how they would have fixed them. I’m glad I saw the pilot anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      It had great potential, but the huge issues in their definition of “love” would have probably be damaging to the plot as the series evolved. Of course, if the show had continued, I would have been happy to be positively surprise! I’ve caught up with tons of TV and books this summer, so that’s why there are so many reviews! Glad you are enjoying them! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. thejedilibrarian

    I didn’t get a chance to see it, and I haven’t read the books it’s based on. I’m pretty sure it’s Love in general though in the books, but I’m not sure. I’d have to do a bit more research into the trilogy and the companion novellas.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

