TV Review: Camelot

I knew about the single season series Camelot, and decided to try it out, before checking Merlin out. The crew (and Eva Green in the cast) were the main reasons why I decided to try the show. I only suffered through the pilot. The show, being historical/fantasy could have easily been something I enjoyed.

I loved the visuals, including costumes and locations, as well as the original score. The problem was that I didn’t care for any of the characters and I stared blankly as they were brought to life on screen.

Camelot_2011_Intertitle

Source: Wikipedia.

I wasn’t surprised to see mature content as it was the Starz network, but all of this was just gratuitous in my view. I didn’t mind how it was done in The Tudors for example, but the ones in Camelot just seemed cheap and added to how bored I was. As much as I like Joseph Fiennes and Eva Green, I couldn’t get into the show.

The dialogs were rather poor in my view as well and the actor portraying Arthur left me shaking my head. His performance did nothing for me at all. So, I am not going to watch beyond the pilot and hope that I will like Merlin much more!

6 thoughts on “TV Review: Camelot

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    Do you know, I really enjoyed this show 😀 I don’t know why, possibly the nice dresses and man candy!

    I enjoyed Joseph Fiennes version of Merlin, even though I haven’t seen him in much else.

    Great review! 🙂 What Merlin are you watching? The BBC one or the old version with Sam Neill?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I didn’t see any man candy for my taste in this show. I have eclectic tastes, but didn’t find any of the men attractive and most if not all characters got on my nerves.

      I am glad that you enjoyed it! I will be watching the BBC Merlin, probably this Fall or Winter.

      Like

      Reply
  2. njmckay

    I haven’t watched Camelot, but seen a few episodes of Merlin, so I can’t really compare, but I think you’ll like Merlin much better by the sounds of things.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I hope that I’ll enjoy it better! I didn’t think much of trying Merlin when it first came out but having seen bits and pieces made me more inclined to. It’ll be a show I watch this Fall/Winter, depending on my backlog of TV!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

