What Is This Writer Up To?

I realized that for the past while, my blog has been mostly filled with reviews. I am grateful for being able to catch up with so much TV and movie watching, as well as reading. It has been very inspiring. Yet, I think it’s time I actually bring up what I have been up to on the writing front. There has been a lot of writing going on!

Photo Credit: Tyssul Patel.

Photo Credit: Tyssul Patel.

On the academic side, I have been deep in article writing. I am currently working on my third piece since end of July, and I have at least one or two more to do right after this one is done. I wrote/will be writing about the following topics:

  • Pacific Rim and Yoko Tsuno
  • Star Wars (Jedi Younglings)
  • Disney Princesses/Nala/Leia Organa
  • Vidding and pedagogy

I am still unsure of what topic I will focus on for a possible remaining call for papers I have on my to do list. I am taking things one at a time, as it always works better for me. Right now, I have four confirmed upcoming publications (3 essays and 1 book) and I am waiting on answers for 6 articles and my Scully book proposal. I hope that I will get positive answers and some of these will be published in the future! Regarding my Scully book project, I have a lengthy list of possible publishers, so that will help me submit until it gets accepted.

Then, there is the fiction side, which is a huge surprise. I haven’t dabbed into original fiction in almost a decade, save for some note takings and world building every once in a while (and not since 2010). A universe I only briefly took (many) notes for came back to me full force. I hadn’t touched it in more than four years but I have been working on it for the past ten days and it is an exhilarating feeling. I had forgotten my love for original fiction. I am outlining several short stories (as it will be the road I take) and have been doing lots of reading and research to get back into the writing craft and self publishing, since my academic writing is always published in a given journal or by a specific publisher. I am pretty excited about all of this.

I have also been toying with possible blog contributions to other websites, but this is on hold for the time being as I want to focus on finishing the articles and outlining my short stories. I hope to get something in the making this Fall!

8 thoughts on “What Is This Writer Up To?

  1. thejedilibrarian

    I’ve always wanted to write my own original story. I minuted in writing, so I’ve written several short stories that way. But I want to write longer works. I have several ideas, and two of them I actually started writing. The ones that are started are a Steampunk one and a Scifi one.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Dabbing into short stories is something new for me. The only other times I did that was when I wrote fan fictions years ago. I wrote a novella and a novell between 2000 and 2005, but since then I never really touched original writing again, save for notes/worldbuilding on other projects. I’m looking forward to this challenge of a shorter form.

      Good luck with your own writing! Steampunk and Scifi sound great! I also thought that when I returned to original fiction, it’d be Science Fiction instead of Fantasy/Paranormal.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thejedilibrarian

        I haven’t written too much since college. I have about 20 pages for the Steampunk story, but at the time Google Docs would load on my work computer and I was so bored at the car dealership that I had to do something. But then it stopped because the computer was old and outdated, and I haven’t touched it a couple of years.

        I have a fantasy idea too, I just haven’t put much down on paper for it.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Beth Caplin

    Don’t know if you’ve already blogged about this, but curious what got you interested in self-publishing? Especially being published academically, that’s pretty awesome!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I didn’t blog about it yet (might do this more at length in the future). I originally wrote fiction when younger but in France it was impossible to publish children and/or Science Fiction/Fantasy books because the agents didn’t take these so you couldn’t get them submitted as you had to go through them. I knew that if one day I went back to original fiction, I’d look into self-publishing, and that decision was made back in 2004-2005. I am amazed of how things have evolved on the self publishing side when I compared with all the reading I had done back then about this topic. I still have a lot more to learn and plan for these upcoming short stories and their marketing, but this also brings my media producing studies back to life.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I might write such posts during the Fall/Winter. Trying to finish going through several things including more academic articles between August and September. I’d love to be able to submit something to the Indie Author Life series!

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

