TV Review: Legend of the Seeker

The good thing with checking shows once they’re already finished is that you can marathon everything in a row without having to wait! This is exactly what I did with Legend of the Seeker. I had heard good things about it since it first aired, but I never watched it, save for some fan videos.

Source: Legend of the Seeker Wiki.

Source: Legend of the Seeker Wiki.

Since I am waiting for some television series to finish airing their current season to watch them, I wanted to pick something that I could watch fully. This is how I ended watching Legend of the Seeker. I think I went through all of this in a matter of days, and certainly less than a week. I just couldn’t stop because I got hooked on it from the start.

I loved the design, visual and audio. It was gorgeous to look at, and I also enjoyed the fights a lot. There were so many interesting weapons. I liked the use of slow motion in the show. It easily looks too much when overused, but it wasn’t the case in this. It just added to the imagery and the editing.

The characters were very compelling and seeing how their bonds develop is one of my favorite aspects of the show. There was solid diversity in gender and age, which added to the story and the fictional universe. I was a bit worried when Cara was introduced that it might lead to a bothering love triangle with Richard and Kahlan, so I was relieved when it wasn’t the case. The team functions really well. There was solid character development throughout the story.

I liked that Richard and Kahlan had such an interesting and deep bond without them being able to consume their love. It didn’t take anything from all the rest they had. Seeing bisexual characters, such as Cara and other Mord Sith was also great (though it didn’t erase the fat shaming an episode of season 2 did).

Zeddicus was an awesome character, that could be as hilarious as terrifying depending on the moment. Seeing him care for all the others with him, including Cara, in season 2, was something I enjoyed a lot too.

Of course, I wish that the series had had more seasons, but I was relieved when the second and final season didn’t end on a horrible cliffhanger. Sure, you guess that more mess and bad things will happen, but the heroes and the world have a moment of respite and the main arc of the season was resolved.

12 thoughts on “TV Review: Legend of the Seeker

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    I absolutely loved this show! I was so disappointed when I marathoned (not a word, but you get my meaning) it and found out there were no more 😀

    All of the characters were great, and the story was really clever. Shame it didn’t get any further.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Marathoning is part of a Fangirl’s vocabulary. 😉 I totally get your meaning! I knew there was only the couple of seasons when I got to it,but I still wanted more when I finished the show! such a great one!

      Like

      Reply
  2. thejedilibrarian

    I loved this show too! Unfortunately it aired in a bad time slot and despite being produced by ABC did not aired on a station that typically airs stuff in syndication. It was a victim of bad airing decisions. Zed is awesome, as is Kahlan, I’ll have to dig up the artwork I did, although I was only just starting then. I have half a mind to read the books, but they are quite long and there are 11 of them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I’d be happy to see your old arts! We all started somewhere after all! I also ponder on reading the books, but I saw mention that the show changed things and that makes me unsure of getting into the novels (beside my huge to read and to buy pile).

      Like

      Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I hope that you enjoy the show! I can’t pick a favorite in the main cast of characters, either the three in the first season or when there is a team of four in the second one!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Mei-Mei

    I’ve been meaning to watch this show, since I liked the books it’s based on. I think it might have been on Netflix at one point, not sure if it still is.

    Like

    Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          It’s true it’s Friday night. I’m confused about time of the week this last couple of days. I’m happy you’re enjoying going through my blog! I’m so happy that I could catch up with blog writing for end of next week and later on! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Leave a Reply

