Book Review: Good Enough: Stop Seeking Perfection and Approval by Bryan L. Hutchinson

I recently discovered the Positive Writer website, either through WordPress or Twitter. I looked around and enjoyed the content I saw and the spirit that inhabited the posts. I have read a lot about being more positive over the past months, through many books and also blog posts. So I am always inclined to check another writing piece on this topic. It tends to help both my soul and my muses.

Photo Credit: Jennifer Langley.

Photo Credit: Jennifer Langley.

I found out about Bryan L. Hutchinson’s free eBook he offered on the site and I made sure to download it right away. Good Enough: Stop Seeking Perfection and Approval is an easy and inspiring read that I would recommend to anyone who has a perfectionist tendency. I am still dealing with my own and I know that this is one heck of a work in progress.

I liked how it is the sort of reading you can go back to whenever you want or need it. It is a solid reminder of how we must do our best, but also be kind with ourselves (and others). I was happy to see this important part included, because kindness and respect definitely goes a long way. Perfectionism isn’t so easy to deal with, so anything that can remind me of why and how I can let go of it is welcome.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Good Enough: Stop Seeking Perfection and Approval by Bryan L. Hutchinson

  1. Kat

    Oh gods. Self doubt and perfectionism are my personal demons. Thanks for recommending the site; I’m adding it to my list of places to go for writing inspiration when I feel down.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I hope this site will be inspiring to you! Perfectionism is such a nasty thing. This is one of the reasons why I tend to hit burnout instead of taking healthy breaks on a regular basis.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Review: Writer’s Doubt: The #1 Enemy of Writing (and What You Can Do about It) by Bryan Hutchinson | Natacha Guyot

  3. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

