Book Review: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tempted Champions by Yvonne Navarro

Tempted_Champions_(Buffy_Novel)The last novel included in my fourth Buffy the Vampire Slayer anthology was Tempted Champions by Yvonne Navarro. This was an enjoyable read, that even saw me found interest in Anya’s presence and side plotline in the novel. Anya is one of my least favorite characters in this fictional universe, so when an author manages to make me care about her, this is a big thing. I very much liked her discussion with Willow and Tara, which I didn’t see coming.

The same way, I found the interaction between Willow and Tara and Dawn, during the casting of some spells, a solid moment in the storyline. There were many small moments between the characters that made this novel work well in regards to how the show was developped on television.

As always, I was glad to get any scene involving Giles and Angel, but this is no news coming from me.

The antagonist in the story was a brilliant twist, with her being a Slayer turned Vampire. I liked how it challenged Buffy on so many levels. I knew that Buffy survived in the end, but at the same time, I was really wondering how or when she would be able to make it through.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tempted Champions by Yvonne Navarro

  1. afternoonofsundries

    Besides having an un natural love for “Once More With Feeling” I wanted to tell you I enjoy your blog and nominated you for the Very Inspirational Blogger Award. Maybe you’ve gotten it before but, I just enjoy your blog and thought you deserved it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

