Book Review: The Heart of Self-Love by Heather Hans

heartofselflovecoverIn between of all my novel reading, I made time to read another personal development book. This time, it was The Heart of Selve-Love: How to Radiate with Confidence by Heather Hans.

I was rather skeptical with the first chapters (‘The Soul’, ‘The Body’, ‘Relationships’) not so much because I disagreed with the author, but I read much more compelling writings about it (such as Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom by Christiane Northrup, The Beauty Blueprint by Michelle Phillips, Miracles Now by Gabrielle Bernstein or anything by Mandy Hale). I didn’t engage as much with Hans on these sections of the book, as well as a few other ones.

I was originally pleasantly surprised with her including astrology and numerology in the introduction, but it felt that she could have developed more about them.

As much as I am glad that she brought up the importance of humor and creativity in life, I couldn’t help thinking that my sense of humor very much differed with hers, and it felt that mostly pranking was supported as a form of humor. I found it a little bit reducing because you can like humor without necessarily enjoying pranks. The same, I wish that she had developed the aspect about creativity in a more detailed way.

Now, there are sections of the book that I have found very interesting and inspiring. I would especially recommend the chapters ‘Education’, ‘Social Justice’ and ‘Standards of Excellence’. They were my favorite in the whole book and I think that Hans put so much into them. The way she talked about the importance of education (beyond academic settings and during one’s whole life) and also how tolerance, respect and equality are crucial for not only self-love, but a better world, was something I agreed with and she explored these different aspects in a thorough way.

The other element that I found most compelling, which shows up in several chapters of the book, was Hans’s words on spirituality and how she showed the bridges between different religions/spiritual approaches. I always appreciate when authors have such oecumenical considerations, regardless of their personal faith.

Leave a Reply

