Book Review: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: These Our Actors by Ashley McConnell and Dori Koogler

Source: Wikipedia.

Source: Wikipedia.

The second novel in my third Buffy anthology was These Our Actors by Ashley McConnel and Dori Koogler. It was a decent read but I wasn’t captivated as with the previous one. The story was set in season five and with a lot of flashbacks going back to England around the time Spike was turned into a vampire by Drusilla and began to live with her, Darla and Angel. All this secondary storyline in the past didn’t interest me that much.

In the present, Willow finds herself confronted with some mystery as she helps for stage play preparation at the university, as one of the asssignments for her drama class. I didn’t really care about the story in this novel. What I found interesting and that kept me reading were the interactions between Willow and Tara, as well as Willow, Giles and Buffy. The unexpected team work between Willow and Spike was also an entertaining twist given much of their banter.

So, These Our Actors was a decent novel, but I don’t think I’ll go back to it for it wasn’t as compelling to me as other Buffy novels I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

