Upcoming Blog Series Progress, Tumblr Questions, Links: Diversity, Writing, Social Media, Tinker Bell

Preparations for my upcoming blog series A Galaxy of Possibilities: Discussing Character Writing, Diversity, Star Wars and Fandom are going well. The logo is ready, as previously mentioned and I have the musical “theme” for the short videos. I have now done more than half of the scripting for the introductory video segments. Once they are all ready, I will move on to the preparation of the actual posts. After much deliberation, I have decided that I will work on having everything prepared before the launch of the series (posts and videos). I will of course edit certain posts as time goes by if the characters I’m analyzing undergo significant changes, but with much up in the air in my life, I don’t want to see the quality of this series diminishing or lacking time. This is why I am unsure of when exactly this series will be launched, though it will be this summer for sure. The more I work on it, the better it is coming along, so I am pretty optimistic about the final results and am looking forward to all the discussions it might spark.

Photo Credit: Sonja Langford.

Photo Credit: Sonja Langford.

In the past months, I brought up the possibility of expanding my online presence to another platform (I am not willing to add more than one as it is important that I can really engage with people without spreading myself too thin). I am still debating over it, but I might decide to go for a Tumblr account. The one time I tried it, I ran away screaming (and this isn’t stretching the truth much). I tend to love how it looks and I know quite a few people I interact with are also there. So I would be interested in having feedback from you Tumblr users. How flexible is the platform? Any recommendation for a theme/place to find free ones? How easy (or not) is the tagging/queuing system? I’d set up automatic shares on Tumblr like I have on LinkedIn and Twitter, but I’d look into being a bit active there. I also wonder how the sourcing aspect of Tumblr works. I know that I could just simply Google all of this, but being able to have actual input from users would be extremely useful. Thank you!

Links: Diversity, Writing, Social Media, Tinker Bell

8 thoughts on “Upcoming Blog Series Progress, Tumblr Questions, Links: Diversity, Writing, Social Media, Tinker Bell

  1. Rose F

    Thanks for the link sweetie and I’m happy to hear your prep is going well–I try to do the same and have things written far ahead of posting too. The main thing I use Tumblr for is a catch all for extras from WP, and I don’t like the tagging system over there it seems glitchy for me, but it’s easier to share posts from the Tumblr dashboard so it’s a trade-off.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I have so much up in the air that if I didn’t prep so much, I’m worried that I’d get behind and do things in a hurry. So prep, prep, prep! You can expect your inbox to get spammed with future posts in the future as well. *waves flag* I don’t have extras for WP, and would use Tumblr to cross post and reblog for the most part. Though I have been thinking that if I join Tumblr, I most post some graphics too (especially RP related as the series starts too).

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sourcerer

    I’ve never prepared an entire series in advance. That sounds like a smart thing to do if you can manage it.

    I don’t have much insight on Tumblr. I looked into as a primary network for our blogs before we set them up, and didn’t like it. We publicize from all three blogs to the Tumblr account I set up, but don’t really use it aside from that.

    I’d say to make it worthwhile, you need a good group of people to interact with to start, and need to figure out the etiquette and how it works. I’ve had a hard time figuring out how to actually interact, other than just liking and reblogging. Lots of Tumblr pages don’t have comments because it requires you to add Disqus to enable them. I don’t like the tagging system, either.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      If certain things go well, my life will become much busier in the upcoming months, so making sure that I have the series ready to roll no matter what. If all goes well, I’ll start working on the actual posts next week. Crossing fingers for this! I’m planning to set up the automatic cross posting for Tumblr from here (as I have for Twitter and LinkedIn) if I get an account. I know a few people on Tumblr already who seem active, which is also why I have been posting for advice and feedback before making my final decision of going for it.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Sourcerer

        Well, aside from account setup time, cross-posting doesn’t cost anything. It’s just not worth much if you aren’t networking over there. Although we do get 5-10 referrals from Tumblr when we talk about certain things. (Doctor Who and Penny Dreadful have both been good for that.)

        I hope you become much busier soon, since that will mean things are going well 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  3. The Wookiee Gunner

    Hellooooo! So you’d like to be a Tumblr user? I can totally help. A lot of people get scared by Tumblr, but honestly, it’s very similar to Twitter. You have your dashboard, which is like a timeline on Twitter. The tags acts as hashtags. You have your own page, which you can customize. Nothing to be scared about!

    It’s pretty flexible, and like anything else, it takes a lot of experimentation and Googling “How to do this” before you get the hang of it. As for theme recommendations, I have a few sites bookmarked that I can pass along to you. So I will get that to you as soon as I get home from work.

    The tagging system is pretty simple and easy to work with. When you tag a post, it will show up in the main tags. For example, if I post a picture about OUAT and I tag it with “once upon a time,” the picture will show up in the “once upon a time” tag. However, it won’t show up in the OUAT tag because I need to tag it with “OUAT” for it to appear there. You can assign as many tags as you want, but keep in mind that only the first FIVE tags count. So let’s say you have the following five tags for a post: once upon a time, ouat, snow white, prince charming, emma swan. The post will appear in ALL five main tags. If I add “neal cassidy,” the post won’t appear in that tag because it’s the sixth tag in the post and Tumblr only recognizes the first five. So, when you’re tagging posts, you have to put the most important tags first.

    The queuing system takes a bit to get used to only because you have to play around with it. Right now, I have ten queued posts that go out between 12pm and 8pm. The queuing system assigns each post a time between 12 and 8 and then you let it do its thing. Each post will publish at that time on its own. You can also schedule a post to publish on a specific day and time. That’s completely up to you.

    Sourcing is also simple. When you click on text or photo to post something, there’ll be a gear button at the top right corner. Click on it and there you will have “Content Source,” where you can post the link to the source. Depending on your blog’s theme, you may not see the link, but the link will be attached to your content. I suggest playing around with it because you can also add text to your content and then link that to the source.

    Tumblr is fun! If you have any other questions, let me know! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I thought you might have something to say about this! 😀 I used to be fairly active on Live Journal and even Dream Width for a while, but I remember how Tumblr looked so different (though I didn’t use Twitter back then). I’d mostly use it to cross post what I share on WordPress and reblog pretties, though I might share some of my graphics as well (which I mostly create for Star Wars role-playing characters).

      Thank you for the information about the tags. That’s definitely good to know, as well as how the sourcing is simple, as I’d hate to reblog something and not give credit/source. How does this Disqus thing work by the way? (asking since someone else mentioned it in the comments). I’m used to schedule posts on WordPress, so I hope it’s not so different on Tumblr.

      Any recommendation for places to find themes would be welcome! And be sure that I’m going to poke you with questions if I really go through with this whole Tumblr thing.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Writing 101 Day 7: Discussing Diversity, Representation, and Respect, Part 1 | Rose B Fischer

Leave a Reply

