Movie Review: My Little Pony: Equestria Girls

Source: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Wiki.

Source: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Wiki.

I was happy to get to watch My Little Pony: Equestria Girls, as I watched all the seasons. I was curious about it, but I didn’t expect much, no matter how I like the TV series. The idea of seeing the characters in a human form and setting was puzzling to me. Yet, I wanted to see what it brought to Twilight as a character when she just becomes a princess.

I won’t lie. What I liked best was the opening and ending taking place in Equestria and not in the human and high school world. I don’t watch My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic for human characters and setting, and I missed seeing everyone as the ponies (and dragon for Spike) that they normally are. I didn’t really care for the high school story line either.

I think that the human versions and seeing them reunite and work together just like they do in Equestria was well done. Seeing Twilight have no idea of what to make of her human body or how things work, including computers, was also accomplished in a solid fashion. Spike turned into a dog was priceless and kind of cute.

Overall, I am glad I watched it for Twilight’s story, but I am not really interested in seeing anything else in the human world. I like the pony and magical world way more.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: My Little Pony: Equestria Girls

  1. hannahgivens

    I was expecting to have a similar reaction, but I’m fascinated by how things change and stay the same in the two versions. For instance, the ponies are adults in Equestria, but high schoolers in the human-ish world. (Plus I just liked it, but preferences always vary!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      That was an interesting aspect, but I think that the high school aspect is what didn’t do it for me. It is ironic as on the other hand, I loved Star-Crossed in the shows that aired this year.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

