TV Reviews: Agents of SHIELD

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 1.19 – The Only Light In The Darkness: The show is so great, especially now with the Hydra situation and its aftermath. I was glad to see the Cellist and it was very emotional to see Coulson refuse to let her know he was still alive, because she was finally able to move on with her life. And seeing Amy Acker again is always a joy. The scene with the lie detector was very interesting. I am very uncomfortable with Ward as he plays his double game and I have a very hard time believing that he can really stop being Hydra. Seeing him work on wrapping Skye around his finger is creepy. Watching May decide to leave  was another moment that was sad and touching. It’s understandable that Coulson has a hard time trusting her because of what she did, but both their sides are understandable, and this is what makes it even harder. I liked how Skye used her hacking skills again to figure things out. I think she has benefited from solid character development. Mentions of several superheroes such as Black Widow, Captain America and Bruce Banner was a nice touch though. Skye understanding about Ward was done in a very Hitchcock manner. Coulson briefly coming to the Cellist’s side before fading away again gave me misty eyes. Skye returning to Ward as if all was good and trying to keep an eye on him wasn’t something I was certain that Skye could do. Coulson wanting to work things out with May was sad because he has no idea she is gone. Ward and Skye alone on the bus gave me a very bad feeling. I loved the final scene between May and her mother! That was a really great twist!

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 1.20 – Nothing Personal: Seeing Agent Maria Hill again is a treat! I liked that she was talking to Pepper on the phone, another great touch. I loved the scene between her and May. They both are clever and efficient women to say the least! The rest of the team at the Providence base trying to figure out what happened with Ward and Skye. I like how Skye was able to leave a message behind for them. Ward still creeps me tons in his scenes with Skye. Coulson keeping the rest of the team together as best as he can as they all understand that Ward is Hydra was a great moment. Special Forces chasing Coulson and the rest of the team was a surprise. Hill showing up and revealing she was the one telling Special Forces explained a lot. May digging into Coulson’s empty grave was priceless. I wonder what she will find in the files she retrieved. The confrontation between Hill and Coulson was necessary and a great moment between them. When they discarded special forces together was a kick ass moment. Skye tipping the cops off was impressive, and courageous. I was glad that she managed to run away though Mike Peterson grabbing her shocked me. It makes sense that he was shadowing Ward. I was so happy when she headbutted Ward even if he cuffed her right after. Ward pulling the pity card made me roll my eyes and I was glad that Skye didn’t fall for this. I like the scene between Skye and Mike. I am kind of surprised (save for the fact that Ward is main cast) that Skye eventually gave the information so easily as she did. Ward’s misogynistic quips at Hill annoyed me and I didn’t need that to want to strangle the character. Coulson sneaking on the bus and reuniting with Skye was one of the best moments. Lola is as good as a James Bond’s car! I like that Coulson doesn’t want to give up, even though he could have options like Hill had (it is great that working for Stark is a good choice for her but I wouldn’t see Coulson do that). Lovely scene with what is currently left of the team at the end, though it’s not the same without May, which was why the final scene made me glad, though the information she has found were beyond anything I had expected.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 1.21 – Ragtag: Seeing all the team (minus Ward) together feels right. Having them be gathering all their talents together and still doing their duty, even though they aren’t official SHIELD anymore. I also like how Coulson wants this ship back at the end of the speech! I can’t wait for Garrett to be stopped. Coulson being all giddy about teh equipment from Triplett’s grandfather was a funny and welcome moment! Deadpan May saying “Watch out, Hydra. Here we come.” reminded me of Aeryn in Crackers Don’t Matter in Farscape season 2 saying “We’re all gonna die.” Coulson and May undercover was quite priceless. Can I say how much I love May? And seeing Coulson so happy she is back warms my heart. I love their interaction! The “large file transfer” was a great line! Though we’re seeing more of the past between Ward and Garrett, I’m still not sure of what to think of Ward’s possible return to SHIELD after all that happened. I didn’t expect Garrett to be the first Deathlok either. The scene between May and Skye about the Ward situation was one of the best in the episode! Raina is still quite an intriguing character. Fitz trying to reach out to Ward after he used the EMP on Garrett was a great moment too. Fitz so determined to reach out to Ward was a big development I hadn’t really expected. I really want to smack Ward in the head. I understand that he has a troubled history, but I can’t get myself to be really invested in the character as I would have liked to. Given how the episode ended for the team, I am very happy that I have waited to watch the last episodes of the season instead of having to wait a week in between!

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 1.22 – Beginning of the End: Triplett, May, Coulson and Skye working together and May being her amazing self was quite a powerful opening! Coulson breaking the news about Fitz and Simmons was heartbreaking, although I don’t really care for the characters, though I don’t hate them. I don’t wish them to get harmed or to die, but I just am not invested in their story. I always love Coulson as a leader, as an inspiration to his team. May and him are perfectly complimenting each other and this is one of the big strengths of the show and the team to me. I could really live with the core team being Coulson, May, Skye and Triplett. They are all characters I really enjoy and that have great dynamics. Raina and Garrett as an mad duet really makes me wonder how they’re going to be taken down. I am also curious about uncovering more about Skye’s history and learn about what she is. Oh the wonderful team moments with Triplett and Coulson together and also May and Skye! The scene between Fitz and Simmons before they blow up the window underwater and that Simmons takes Fitz to the surface reminded me of The Abyss. Fury showing up? Amazing moment! I can’t even begin to say how excited I was to see him show up again! Fury is one such great character! Great confrontation between Ward and Skye and then May coming in for one hell of a fight, that was another great moment and I wanted to see her beat the hell out of Ward so much. And Garrett versus Coulson was also something big! And then Fury coming to the rescue, including how Coulson says they’ll have a loud and possibly angry conversation was a great moment. Coulson and Fury “appreciating” how nuts Garrett has gone made me grin. And May giving his due to Ward was so great and deserved on many levels. Skye wanting to reach to Mike again and asking for his son’s help was great and emotional. That was a great twist! Coulson and May telling Ward in which trouble he is made sense. Mike watching his son be reunited with the rest of the family and his talk with Skye was a heart breaking moment and I look forward to seeing more of Mike in the future. Not surprised to see Garrett try his luck again but so relieved that Coulson smashed him into literal pieces was a relief. Coulson shouting at Fury about the TAHITI project (in front of May) was something. Fury explaining why he did this made a lot of sense and shows how much he thinks of Coulson. Fury trusting Coulson to rebuild SHIELD was a beautiful moment, and also making sure that May will be buy his side. That was great! And Coulson certainly deserves to be Director. Seeing the team arrive at their new base was great. I admit that I would be happy if Triplett replaced Ward as part of the team on a permanent basis. Raina telling whoever/whatever that she has found their daughter, Skye, gave me a very bad feeling. I have no idea what to think of this final scene or how to feel about it.

Source: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Wiki.

Source: Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Wiki.

4 thoughts on “TV Reviews: Agents of SHIELD

  1. thejedilibrarian

    I think the woman that played May’s mom has played Ming-na’s mom in other things. I think I remember her from The Joy Luck Club, which Ming-na was in, or from playing her mom on ER.

    I loved the “Get ready for a large file transfer” and then they push the file cabinet out the window! Also great to see all the old gadgets.

    I still need to watch Tuesday’s finale, but I’m glad they got renewed.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Glad to know I wasn’t the only one enjoying these elements! And I hope that you’ll like the finale! It was a relief that they were renewed, after so many cancellations!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

