TV Reviews: Believe, Game of Thrones

Believe 1.08 – Together: The opening credits of this show is gorgeous. I really love them. I understood both Tate and Milton’s opinions about how Bo’s training. The discussion between Bo and Channing was great as we rarely get these “girl” moments. When Bo collapsed the wood planks to save them all, I thought about when Jaime jumps between buildings in the Bionic Woman pilot. Bo warning Channing to be careful gave me goosebumps. I like seeing the small team as a family, besides the father and daughter moments. Tate telling Bo how he met her mother was beautiful, so emotional. And the two were also cute and funny in it. I’m a sucker for a nice father and daughter bond and Tate and Bo are great together and I like how the bond is developing! Channing accepting the suicide mission to go to Orchestra to help Bo is an important moment and I have a very bad feeling about it, and not just because I am writing that on May 4th. I like how Bo is always willing to help people. I admit that this is one of the reasons why I love this show so much as it is shows some faith in human kind. Great scene between Milton and Channing before she goes into the tunnel, to Orchestra. I like that Channing seems to get more screen time in the past few episodes. She si a great character, as much as Bo, Tate and Milton. I didn’t see the whole horse matter coming up regarding the person Bo and Tate are helping. Bo loving horses and Tate being scared of them was classic (and it made for some funny moments in between the stressing parts of the story). Channing being at Orchestra just made me bite my nails. I loved the scene between Zoe and Channing. And the moment she is caught was expected but still. It confirms the bad feeling I had. Tate and Bo being lost in the woods on a horse was priceless. For sure, I was happy they could help the man and his family! It always does for fuzzy feelings! And the exchange when Bo knows Tate is thinking about her Mom and he remembers something, I had misty eyes. The team without Channing is not the team. The last scene wasn’t something I had expected either.

Game of Thrones 4.04 – Oathkeeper: Ten minutes just for Daenerys taking a city felt really long to me. I still like her, but many of the scenes in this season, and the one before are a bit boring in my view. Tyrion’s man winning against Jaime Lannister and kicking him using his fake hand was quite a great moment. Thing is that I have a hard time feeling positive about Jaime since he raped Cersei. It still feels counter intuitive in terms of character development, no matter how it made sense in a certain way (despite how it does certainly not excuse his horrible actions). I was glad to see Jaime go to see Tyrion at least. I hope that he can really do something for Tyrion. I like seeing Tyrion defends Sansa again! I have always hated Baelish but now I do even more with his scheming, using Sansa (and I don’t like her at all). Margery’s grandmother is quite the character and the manipulator as well. Seeing a scene with Jon Snow was a nice change of pace as the only other interesting scene for me was the one between Tyrion and Jaime so far. I wonder whether Cersei can have a scene without drinking. I find it weird that while Jaime raped her in the previous episode, she doesn’t seem to care about it, despite the fact that she keeps distance with him on a personal level. At the same time, she had already been keeping distance and blaming him for having abandoned her before he had raped her. When Margery went to see Tommen, the future king, I squealed when I saw the kitty, and it suddenly brought interest to the scene (besides how great Natalie Dormer always is). Natalie Dormer and a kitty in the same frame makes me giddy, and I thought about Dragon Age II because the cat is called Ser Pounce, so I wonder whether Anders’s cat is called Ser Pounce a Lot because of the books. The scene between Jaime and Brienne is outstanding, one of the best of the episode and even the season so far! There is still hope for Jaime, I guess. Oathkeeper is a beautiful name for a sword. Now these two scenes were Game of Thrones at its best! I am even madder at Jaime having raped Cersei because how counter intuitive it is with Jaime’s development since the third season and how it just massacred all the progress. Heck, even before the development and that I just wanted to strangle him, I didn’t picture him to be a rapist, so that just baffles me. The episode is turning better in the second half I find. Great scene between Jon Snow and Sam. Jon is so much more of a leader than Rob ever was, at least for me. That’s a powerful moment and when I see these last few scenes, I’m like “that Game of Thrones!” as I find the fourth season a little weaker so far, save for the season opening. And right after, the show makes me angry again. What is the need for this rape business? What is the point? And yes, I am really polite about this gratuitous crap. The scene with Bran was interesting and I would be glad to see more of his development, though I admit I miss Osha. I’m worried that they got caught by this band of insane and mean former Night Watch. The final scene between White Marchers and the baby was creepy to say the least.

Source: Believe Wiki.

Source: Believe Wiki.

11 thoughts on “TV Reviews: Believe, Game of Thrones

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      It is a great show with a lots of interesting characters. I loved the first three seasons to pieces, but the fourth one is really bothering me, no matter how some scenes are still outstanding and the actors and design still good.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Diana

    I wondered, when I saw that you were writing about GoT, if you were going to discuss how rape seems to be becoming a bigger and bigger part of the show. The new episode doesn’t have any direct scenes, but there are a few almost- and off-screen iterations of sexual violence. I’m almost over the show in a way that makes me sad. I want to like it, but I’m so tired of the sexual violence–and while the books have plenty of this stuff in there, some of this is amped up for the show.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I’m tired of this. I have a lot of issues with this new season, and the sexual violence is definitely part of it. I don’t see the point of most of it and there are ways to depict without reveling in it as it seems to be the case. I’m still watching but I’m not happy with the show as I used to be, that’s one sure thing.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Diana

        Gosh, I know. It’s been there all along–they changed the scene between Dany and Drogo, their wedding night, from complex but consensual sex to a rape scene, and that to me changed their entire relationship, making it even more puzzling. But they’ve made it such a bigger part of this season than in the seasons before, and it’s taking a real toll on whether or not I want to see the show.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I didn’t read the books so the only comparisons I could make were based on comments and analysis I read. The scene between Dany and Drogo at the wedding night and the development and evolution afterwards was “okay” for me, because in my view the show relied a lot on the French movie Quest for Fire (yes I am making a comparison between Drogo and a Neanderthal man but in a way that works fine). It’s not that I liked the wedding night, but a few times I saw comparison points between both and I could buy the relationship in the long run. But this season just takes things too far. I didn’t watch last Sunday episode but I’m finding myself apprehensive of the episodes this season, which wasn’t the case before.

          Like

          Reply
          1. Diana

            Yes, that’s why it didn’t bother me all that much at first, but once I read the first novel, I wondered why the show had changed it. I haven’t read all of the books yet, but I know the basic outlines of the plots, and I’ve read sections like that of Jaime/Cersei being together after Joffrey’s death, and that was a whole different scene from one to another.

            Part of what is also bugging me is the way the creators are talking about all of this—so callously.

            Like

            Reply
            1. Natacha Guyot Post author

              I don’t see the point in adding sexual violence for the sake of it or to make it more “edgy” (it’s not more edgy to me, it’s just gratuitous and stupid). And I completely agree with you about how the creators don’t seem to see where the problem is.

              Like

              Reply

Leave a Reply

