Book Review: Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi – Into the Void, Links: Feminism, Star Wars, Asian-American, Television

Because of my Angel marathon, my regular TV watching has fell to the side for the time being. I am hoping to do some catch up this weekend though. I do have quite a few shows that are going to end soon, though I hope that most, if not all of them, will be renewed! I have also spent some time reading over the past few days and have picked Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi – Into The Void by Tim Lebbon again. I had started it in February but had paused, because of doing too many other things.

Source: Wookieepedia.

Source: Wookieepedia.

I devoured the rest of the book once I picked it up again. I enjoy reading about the older times of galactic history. I know that there was a comic series made after this book and I liked checking a preview in the novel, but I’m not planning to read it. I admit that I am not such a comic book fan. Besides my beloved Yoko Tsuno series, I mostly stick to a few older Star Wars comic books, though I still want to read the ones about Firefly, Buffy, Angel and The X-Files.

I liked the way Dawn of the Jedi – Into the Void was written and structured. I normally don’t like having changes of tense, but it worked well for the memories and the present. It was different and I found it engaging. I also liked the different quotes opening each chapter.

I liked the main character. Lanoree was a very interesting one and seeing her journey(s) and how she has evolved and the trials she faces made the book a great read. I also loved seeing early days of the Jedi, even before they were actually called that in precise spelling. The fact that they didn’t wield lightsabers yet, and that they threaded on a much thinner line between light and dark and all the philosophical implications, made the book quite fascinating to me. It reminded me of Vaapad and how only few Jedi Masters used it later on. This philosophical aspect was very engaging.

Links: Feminism, Star Wars, Asian-American, Television

One thought on “Book Review: Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi – Into the Void, Links: Feminism, Star Wars, Asian-American, Television

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

