Book Review: Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom by Christiane Northrup

ID-100172343 - Clear Pond by Gualberto107

Image courtesy of  Gualberto107 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I started reading Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom: Creating Physical and Emotional Health and Healing by Christiane Northrup, M.D. a bit less than two weeks ago. I believe this is the fourth edition that I have read. I just finished it, and this is one of the books I have found most fascinating and inspiring. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

I love how the author speaks of so many topics and how body and mind are so closely linked to one another. I find it crucial how she brought up so many subjects, even some that don’t concern me right now or might never do. I found myself reading on most of them even if only out of curiosity. I liked how she reconcile medicine and healing and how one has the potential to heal themselves depending on the mindset.

I was very grateful for her honesty including how she wrote a few times how certain things and steps were simple but not easy. That very much resonated in me. There is just so much in this book that I know I will return to it on several occasions. I was also happy to see her mention Clarissa Pinkola Estés whose work is very inspirational to me (so far I only read Women Who Run With the Wolves, but I plan to read more of her writing), even in my own research as a transmedia and Science Fiction scholar, especially when it comes to female characters. This was also why I smiled when she briefly mentioned Ursula LeGuin at some point.

I also found it interesting how right before reading this book I had read The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle and she mentioned this book a few times. A few other names, from Louise Hay to Geneen Roth (whose book Women Food and God has been on my to read list for a while), were familiar and it made me feel right about these selected readings I picked, following my inner guidance.

While I consider myself a Christian, I nevertheless hold interest and curiosity about Buddhism and a Goddess mystical approach. This is why Northrup’s book also spoke to me in how she always tried to have a global spiritual approach. It made it more compelling to me. And reading it, I also felt comforted in the path I have chosen on many levels, including with my strong interest in researching and writing about female characters.

One thought on “Book Review: Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom by Christiane Northrup

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

