The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and Game of Thrones Season 3

I finally got to see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. I liked it a lot. I admit that so far I prefer The Lord of the Rings Trilogy to The Hobbit one. Yet, I still enjoy the latter a lot and the second movie was as well done as the first one, meaning I am now waiting for the final installation of the trilogy! I love the world and seeing familiar faces across all movies is really a treat to me.

I know that Evangeline Lilly’s Tauriel character wasn’t in the book (which I didn’t read) but I loved her and thought that she worked really well in the story. The scenes with Smaug were outstanding and I loved the look, the voice, the behavior. One thing I also enjoy about this movie and the other ones in the universe is how Peter Jackson takes his time and make really long ones so there can be tons of world building and atmosphere moments. This is one of my favorite aspects of them.

When Game of Thrones season 3 started last year, I had watched the first episode, but nothing since then. I just hadn’t been in the mood. Yesterday I decided to continue watching a little bit randomly and I couldn’t stop. I had to marathon the remaining nine episodes I had on the to watch list. That show is still outstanding and while I had had a lot of spoilers, it was like with the first three seasons of Battlestar Galactica – for which I had had a lot of spoilers before watching the show. It didn’t affect all the feels and the shock because of certain scenes.

The visuals and music of this show is as breath taking as ever. The actors are all so talented. This is pure epicness. I still like Tyrion to pieces, as well as Arya, Gendry, Lady Stark, Jon Snow, Brienne, Shae, Daenerys and Jorah Mormont. I liked how so many dynamics evolved and sometimes drastically changed in this season. I was also blown away by Jaime Lannister’s story line and character development. I would have never thought that I would actually start to respect and even like this character.

While I don’t like their characters at all, I am glad to see Lena Headey, Natalie Dormer and Charles Dance  in interesting roles. I also couldn’t help thinking of Angélique and Jeoffrey de Peyrac in the Angélique movies with the scenes between Tyrion and Sansa as they become husband and wife. My admiration for Lady Stark didn’t fade away even in her last moments at the Red Wedding. Rob and his wife tended to annoy me, so their deaths didn’t affect me. Lady Stark’s last moments gave me misty eyes for certain.

4 thoughts on “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and Game of Thrones Season 3

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Likewise! She added a lot in the Elven community and also in her links to the Dwarves and her own perception about whether they (Elves) should help or now and how. It also linked well with other Elven politics/ideals at stake in the Lord of the Rings trilogy too.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

