Book Update, Falling Skies and Intelligence TV Reviews

My Iron Man upbeat video (yes I can make some of those sometimes) is a good way to illustrate how good and accomplished I am feeling about the progress of my Women in Science Fiction Television book project! I finished all the formatting today after having worked a lot on it for the past week. I reviewed everything again today, chapters, illustrations, bibliography and assorted documents. I was able to send everything to the collection’s director who is my contact with the publisher. I am really glad of how this project has gone over the last six months and I am looking forward to hearing back from my contact, to know what I can do to improve the book.

Last year, I finally arrived to the Falling Skies party. I fell in love with the show and watched the first two seasons back to back as soon as I could. Yet, I didn’t get around watching the third one until this week. I couldn’t stop as soon as I started the first episode. I liked how they had developed the characters, their dynamics and the stories in the first two seasons, but in my view, they have really pushed things even further with this latest season. Is it June yet so we can have the fourth season?

Having a jump in time, seven months further after the end of the previous season was a risky move, but they handled it really well. The information and developments were well set. I smirked when picking on Babylon 5, Battlestar Galactica and assorted references and nods throughout the season. Anne’s baby scared the living hell out of me. I tend to be scared with such things, as weird as it might sound. I also was glad that the season finale didn’t end with a nasty cliffhanger. I’m grateful when a show has some mercy on its viewers.

I also got to watch Intelligence season finale, 1.13 Being Human. I loved it and it was great to get to see more of Gabriel’s past and family history. Seeing the whole team be so close and work together to save the day also was a real treat. Mei Chen is still an interesting character, and while I wasn’t surprised so much by the final scene between her and Lilian’s father, I am still curious of the exact game at play there, besides the remaining Tigers. The last scene between Gabriel and Riley reminded me of some Mulder and Scully scenes in the X-Files. It was a lovely moment between the two. I hope that not only the show gets renewed as it’s one of my favorites in the shows that premiered this season, and that if so, we get to see more of Gabriel’s mother!

2 thoughts on “Book Update, Falling Skies and Intelligence TV Reviews

Leave a Reply

