TV Reviews and Trailers: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic, Killer Women, Intelligence, The Last Ship

I recently finished watching My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic season two. I enjoyed it as much as I did the first one. They really did a good and clever job with the character development. I appreciate how all the characters have their flaws and qualities. They are more realistic that way and more engaging to the viewer. I admit that Pinkie Pie still tends to annoy the living hell out of me, but even she has her moments and her development. I like how Princess Celestia always reminds them that they all have something to offer and can achieve much if they put their heart and mind to it.

I like that that the six ponies and also Spike take turn as focus of the episodes. It is always tricky when you have so many characters, but the show does well. Seeing the younger sisters on a semi regular basis is also a clever narrative choice for the show, because it gives another point of view and addressing different ages’ behaviors and concerns is important. The same way it is good to see relatives of all main characters’ because it shows more of their personality and their relationships.

I enjoyed all the season but the two part episode at the end of it was some of my favorite episodes since I started watching the show. I really wondered whether things would be solved by the end of the final episode or whether there would be a mean cliffhanger. I’m now looking forward catching up with season three!

While I don’t watch many thriller television series these days, I couldn’t resist checking Killer Women out, because of Tricia Helfer (and also Michael Trucco and Marc Blucas). I hadn’t realized when I recently checked the pilot, that the show had already been cancelled and that not even every episode had aired. It’s a shame because I found the show well executed, with solid characters and many topics brought up.

Helfer was amazing in it. To me it is her best role besides Six in Battlestar Galactica. Her acting was efficient, touching, funny making her character a very engaging one. I like that she had a lot of personal struggles and handled them the best she could. The whole part regarding her abusive ex-husband was one of the most important aspects in my view. It said a lot of things about how abuse victims can (or cannot) get around dealing with getting away from the abuser.

I also loved her brother (Trucco and Helfer as brother and sister was naturally awesome) and his family. They were interesting characters as well and I enjoyed seeing the interactions within the family. It was a great touch to add.

Intelligence 1.11 – The Grey Hat: This show keeps getting better and better. The whole team is interesting and it’s a pleasure to see the characters develop and the dynamics evolve. I love the dialogues in the show and the weekly stories are interesting with good suspense. This one made me emotional towards the end, and I had misty eyes when the day was saved and when Troy was reunited with his brother. I am looking forward to the two part season finale which started this week. I’m still hoping that just like Almost Human, Intelligence will get renewed for a second season. I know that both are unlikely, but I’m still crossing fingers regardless.

Did I say how much of a black hole YouTube is? I was checking for some links and trailers when one of the options on the side was the trailer for The Last Ship. I hadn’t heard about it, but I recognized Rhona Mitra on the still frame. I got curious and clicked. Now I just can’t wait for this show. The cast has several actors I like, besides Mitra (Eric Dane, Adam Baldwin). It does look like a mix between Battleship and World War Z to me, and I enjoyed both movies. So I’ll be watching when it starts airing end of June!

4 thoughts on “TV Reviews and Trailers: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic, Killer Women, Intelligence, The Last Ship

  1. Harliqueen

    I love how you went from My Little Pony to Killer Women in the same post 😀

    I haven’t seen MLP in years, I got all antsy when they changed from the originals, I guess I’m joining the older generations now!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I have very eclectic tastes! 😀

      The old MLP was airing when I was a child but it wasn’t something I watched, though I had a couple toys. I didn’t plan to watch the new one until a friend said so much about it I decided to try. I think they did a really clever and nice show with the new version.

      Like

      Reply
  2. thejedilibrarian

    I recently found out one of the ponies is a librarian. So I now need to check it out. I was a fan of the original show when I was a kid and I was avoiding it, but I think I need to see it now.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

