TV Reviews and Links

Last night, a bout of insomnia saw me catch up with TV to a greater extent than I had first planned. This is why you are getting reviews for a few episodes. The only shows I won’t include today are Killer Women whose pilot I fell in love with (Tricia Helfer was amazing) and My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. I will review both shows once I am done with the seasons I am currently watching (first one for Killer Women and second one for My Little Pony).

Crisis – 1.01 Pilot: I checked this show because of Gillian Anderson being part of the cast, which should come as no surprise who knows me. I don’t really watch actual thrillers these days, because I am not so much in the mood for them. So, I didn’t know whether I would get into Crisis. It already is one hell of a ride. I admit that I don’t really care about the kid characters, but I love the tension, the atmosphere and most of the adult characters. My favorites are Meg Fitch, Susie Dunn and Marcus Finley. These three characters are extremely interesting and I can’t wait to find more about them. I love how the pilot already provided a lot of great plot twists and I can’t wait to see the characters develop, including the relationship between the two sisters.

Believe – 1.01 Pilot and 1.02 Beginner’s Luck: I like some of Cuaron’s work, so I got intrigued by the show, but I didn’t have any big expectations. I found the pilot interesting but the second episode really won me over. I like “special child” themes and they are doing it really well. There are elements that remind me of The X-Files, Dark Angel, Children of Men and Bird on a Wire. I like the cast and I find that the way they give information about who’s who is pretty well done so far, between the two episodes. The build up is well done and I love the interaction between Bo (yes, I think about Lost Girl every time I hear her name) and Tate. I like that Bo is a smart kid, but still a kid. She has a good heart and yet she isn’t perfect at all, which makes her all the more credible. I am definitely going to keep watching!

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – 1.15 Yes Men: I got excited about this episode from the moment I knew that Sif would show up. She is one of my favorite female characters in the Avengers verse. It is always a treat to see her and I really hope that she could get her own movie at some point. Seeing her join forces with Melinda May was awesome. There was again a lot of interesting moments between the characters and I like how the team is now. The episode completely reminded me of the first season Stargate SG-1 episode Hathor, but it didn’t feel like a poor rip off, so I didn’t mind it. The final scene with Melinda May left me staring at my screen.

Continuum – 3.01 Minute by Minute: The cliffhanger at the end of the second season was one of the worst I had ever seen and I couldn’t wait for this episode. I wasn’t disappointed at all. I was expecting a lot, and my brain got fried even more than I thought it would be. It went beyond all my expectations. Time travel is a very tricky business, but this show is doing very well with its theme. Seeing Kiera and Garza in their scenes together was something I hadn’t seen coming at all, and Kiera had outstanding moments. The story was good as usual, and I can’t wait to see the direction of this new season. It is dark and I have the feeling it will go darker, but I love the show to pieces. I’m so glad it’s back on air!

Once Upon A Time – 3.13 Witch Hunt: I still remember how I tried this show because I wasn’t sure I had much left to watch back last Fall. I then went through a marathon of everything and couldn’t get enough. I still feel like that now. This show is one of my favorite ones right now and I love what they have done with the fairy tales and assorted imaginary worlds in the story. This episode was great and I like how they jump back and forth in the timeline. It is well executed and easy to follow. Regina and Emma teaming up and being sneaky was great and the banter between Regina and Robin Hood worked well in my view. I’m going to keep repeating it until it happens, but I can’t wait for Regina to smack the Wicked Witch!

Links: Writing, the Six Million Dollar Man and the Bionic Woman and Pocahontas

5 thoughts on “TV Reviews and Links

  1. thejedilibrarian

    I loved the reveal of who Zelena is. The Charming tree grows another branch. I also loved that SHIELD ep. I didn’t think of Hathor until you mentioned it, but it does remind me of it, but like you said, it wasn’t a rip off. I was shocked too at May in the end. Also, do you think the woman Ward desires instead of May is Skye? Because I always got that vibe.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I can’t make up my mind whether Ward truly desires is Skye or May. I’m not sure I know which one I want him to go for. Sometimes I have more clear cut ideas of who I ship, but not in SHIELD.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

