Sunday Music and Links

Today, I realized that I mentioned music a few times on my blog, and not just when talking about movies, TV and vidding. I had an idea of a music related post for a bit, but I never came around to do so. So today is the day! I even am working through older posts and still have more work to do, to add the new Music category and related tags.

The idea for this selection came from International Women’s Day. My post about Frozen yesterday, and mentioning Let it Go brought the idea back to mind. All the songs posted below are inspirations to me as a woman. I also stayed away from any songs that might have to do with romantic relationship for this specific post. There are only titles that clearly speak about women, and even like that I feel like I am forgetting others. There are many other songs that inspire me a lot of course, and you might see further posts about this.

There are songs in both English and French. Yes, there are more chances I bring up some French music than French movies or TV shows these days!

Ève, lève toi by Julie Pietri. This is one of my earliest memories of music, because my mother had taped a live version of it on TV for me when I was little. This is a beautiful song about Eve and feminism and how important women are and all the possibilities they can seize. It remains a powerful inspiration to me.

I walk alone by Cher. I wouldn’t say that Cher’s latest album is my favorite of hers, but there were still songs that captivated. This one went straight to my soul. I love the lyrics and Cher has been a huge inspiration for me since I was a teenager. In media figures, you could say that Cher and Gillian Anderson are both equally important to me. Just like Julie Pietri’s Ève, lève toi, there is something in the lyrics that remind me so much of Women Who Run With the Wolves: Myths and Stories of the Wild Woman Archetype by Clarissa Pinkola Estés, Ph.D. which is one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. This book and her ideas resonate in all my work about female characters.

Juanita by Shania Twain. I have vidded it twice already, for Chiana in Farscape and the women in Star Wars. I also like Twain’s She’s not just a pretty face song, from the same album, but Juanita always resonates more in me.

Stand in the rain by Superchick. (Yes I am thinking about One Path and even Vala right now, Rose.)

Let It Go by Demi Lovato. Since I posted Idina Menzel’s version yesterday, I’m sharing Lovato’s today. After having seen the movie, I have a softer spot for Menzel’s though. This song has become extremely inspirational for me, and along with the Throne Room score from Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope by John Williams and Let Your Light Shine by Bethany Dillon, it might be the song I can listen on repeat for the longest time while writing.

Sa raison d’être by Ensemble. In 1999, many French artists collaborated for this song speaking of a nurse dedicating her life to help patients suffering from H.I.V. It was released on the national H.I.V. awareness day. It speaks of dedication, compassion and celebrating all the little things that can make things progress.

This one’s for the girls by Martina McBride. I always connect this song with Rose’s video for the Stargate SG-1 ladies. (Thank you for finding it again, sweetie!!) Just like Stand in the Rain, I think of Evil Genius conversations when listening to it.

Avalon by Lunatica. Since I first watched The Clone Wars movie in 2008, I always associated the song with Ahsoka, and Star Wars in general. I’m thinking about maybe redoing the song for a second Ahsoka video once I have all the show on DVDs, and not just the movie and the first season. I love the determination and hope that can be felt in this song.

Sisters are doin’ it for themselves by Aretha Franklin and Annie Lennox. I love this song and I remember the official video clip (which I couldn’t find for this post) being as amazing as the two legendary singers. This song also inspired my book’s introduction and afterword titles. I thought that this is a perfect way to close this selection.

Links: Movies, Female characters and Religious Purity

4 thoughts on “Sunday Music and Links

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I was already hooked before, as I had stumbled on it one evening while browsing YouTube. Glad to know I’m not the only one listening to the song a few times a day since watching the movie!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

