Book Progress, Upcoming Guest Lecture, Links and More

ID-10051972 - Opened Magic Book Stock Image - digitalart

Image courtesy of digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Women in Science Fiction Television is getting closer to completion! I finished the last chapter I had to write tonight. I now have written 73,500 words out of the 80,000! My submission deadline is November 1, 2014. I will be able to submit it end of April if all goes right. I am so proud of how well this project has been going since I started the actual writing back in October. While I had a solid outline from the book proposal, I can say that it turned out better than I had planned, including with some directions I hadn’t thought about at first. I will tackle the afterword and the introduction either this week or on the next one. I already listed all the illustrations (i.e. screen caps) I want for the 21 the book will include.

I also discussed my upcoming guest lecture about vidding, with my friend who teaches the class. Guest lecture will be on March 26, and I am very much looking forward to it. The slides are now all ready, the videos to show are chosen and I have my time set. I am glad that I could pick not just very recent videos, but also an older one. It has been a while since I gave a talk, aside from my participation to the Call Me Kate! web documentary about fandom, in which I also talked a lot about vidding. I’m glad to be given this opportunity.

On the TV side, things are piling up on the to-watch list. List includes: Intelligence and Almost Human recent episodes, but also most of My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (why, yes, I am finally watching it and so far I am refraining from having paper ideas), and Angel season 5. Easy to say that I am not without things to watch! I also am a bit delayed in TV watching because I started to play a  video game again, and got hooked on Torchlight II. I loved the first game but the second one is almost even more addictive!

A few links about writing:

4 thoughts on “Book Progress, Upcoming Guest Lecture, Links and More

    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Thanks, sweetie! I’m very excited about it (oh and guess who’s thinking about opening her book intro with a quote from Razor’s Edge about Leia?). You’re welcome for the links!

      I loved the first Torchlight but I’m in as much love with the second one. I find that them reusing the bestiary, the gameplay allowed them to expand on the locations in a really solid way. It’s good that they didn’t try to overhaul everything. It’d have been a shame! And I love the new choice of pets.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

