Sunday Writing, Vidding, TV Ramblings And Link Dump

I hope you are all having a good weekend. Yesterday was particularly productive in terms of book writing. I have now completed 71,500 words out of the 80,000 for Women in Science Fiction Television. Part of me still hopes that I might be able to write more books about this very topic. As accomplished as I feel about this one, I know that I still have so much more to say about so many more characters! Taking things one at a time is important though. I’m planning to finish the final chapter this upcoming week and then focus on the book introduction and afterword. Once these last parts will be completed and gone through proofreading, I will work on the formatting.

With the romantic movie blog series (for which I plan to post a conclusion this upcoming week) I haven’t posted much on my YouTube channel, since non Science Fiction and non Fantasy videos go to my Vimeo. Yesterday, I searched for a new video to upload and one that I can use as channel trailer for non subscribers. I picked the one posted above, See You On The Other Side, a Science Fiction/Fantasy crossover of many different sources. I had created this short video as some kind of trailer for a talk I gave back in 2010 about Science Fiction Franchises and Transmedia.

I finished to catch up with already aired episodes from Almost Human, i.e. 1.10 Perception and 1.11 Disrupt. I am still hooked on the show and can’t wait for the last two episodes of the first season and hope the show gets renewed. I enjoyed discovering new things about different characters and new things lurking in the dark about them in these two episodes. I think they are doing really well in terms of character development, including the dynamics within the group. I also enjoy how they explore the issues in the world as it is depicted in 2048. Overall, it is a strong show and I am very glad I got to watch it!

I finally took a deep breath and sat through Lost Girl season 4 finale, 4.13 Dark Horse. I was afraid of how all hell would break loose after how heart wrenching this season had already been. I was right to be afraid. This was one of the most brilliant episodes of the whole show, but it was a horribly emotional ride. I don’t think I have cried that much since I watched the finale episodes of Babylon 5 some time last year. Once again the writers are doing a wonderful job and the actors are all amazing. I still laughed in between crying. When is season 5 officially announced? There is so much mess to fix!

After assaulting my box of tissues for Lost Girl, I caught up with the latest Beauty and the Beast episode, 2.14 Redemption as I needed something to “relax”. It was a good episode, which served well the current narrative arc. I was happy to see Vincent use his medical background again and hope to see more of that in the future. So far I had no problem with the love/romance dynamics in the show (minus how Tori used to annoy me so so much but it had nothing to do with her possible romance with Vincent). Yet, I felt that the show was borderline in this episode with the love triangle. It wasn’t badly done and made sense, but I just hope they clear the air soon and don’t drag things down. I had a doubt about the direction of the show in early season 2, and was reassured almost within the next episode, so I am not worried too much.

Links: Olivia Wilde, Fangirls, Writing, Reading, Star Wars and More Writing!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Writing, Vidding, TV Ramblings And Link Dump

Leave a Reply

