More Science Fiction TV Shows, A Few Links And A Question

ID-100188595 - Laptop Computer With Books, Isolated On White Stock Image - cooldesign

Image courtesy of cooldesign / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I don’t know why I always seem to have my posts go into the opposite order of their titles. I am not even doing this as a special figure of style! Anyway, I would like to start by a question I forgot to ask in my recent post about the website updates. I am lucky to have interacted with some of you who read and comment on this blog. Is there anything you would like to see me write about in future posts? I am open to suggestions, for as much as I have ideas, there might be topics related to my usual themes I didn’t think about or am planning to. I am not saying I would write about everything mentioned in comments as I might not be familiar enough to produce valid content, but I am putting this out here.

I’ve recently enjoyed the following posts linked below:

In between working on the final chapter of my upcoming book Women in Science Fiction Television, I have watched a few TV show episodes. I actually tried out the pilot of Star-Crossed. I wasn’t sure about it because I wasn’t very interested in a teenager focused new series, Science Fiction or not. Yet, I checked it and was positively surprised. It is not ground breaking series and it has the limits of its genre. I mean, why can’t be shows that focuses on characters who attend university? I mean it feels that between high school and active life in mid twenties or whatever, there is no existing room. It is tiring. What was good about the show was that it took place a little bit in the future and played the upgraded technology and civilization. It felt like a middle ground between the re-imagined V and Roswell. I’m not sure how long I’ll follow it, but I will check the next episode at least.

The other show I tried out is Almost Human. After squealing about it on Twitter, including how it feels like Blade Runner meets Lethal Weapon, I have been marathoning episodes, one after the other. I fell in love with this show and I hope it gets more seasons. The cast is impeccable, the story is compelling. I like how gritty the universe can be. The banter and dynamics between characters, especially main duet, is awesome. I’m already finishing the sixth episode! I always have an interest in the thematic of cyborgs and this show is smart and brilliant. I don’t know how I managed not to check it before tonight, but at least it means I can watch many episodes in a row!

On a final note, I have to share the trailer for Continuum season 3. I can’t wait for the show to be back on air. The end of the second season was one of the nastiest cliffhangers I have seen in a very long while.

13 thoughts on “More Science Fiction TV Shows, A Few Links And A Question

  1. thejedilibrarian

    I was a huge Roswell fan when I was younger. Such a great show, and this one does remind me of it. I like Almost Human too! And I totally agree that we need a show that focuses on the years at university, and not becuase the show has been on for years and the characters have graduated high school. Start at freshman year with people just meeting each other and go from there. I think those years are more interesting.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      I got curious about Star-Crossed because of Roswell. I still prefer Roswell, but giving props to the new one (at least the pilot) for trying to do something a little different (beyond main theme). I watched 9 episodes of Almost Human last night. I got addicted! And thanks for your words about how we need a show which focuses on university years. There is so much to do with it!

      Like

      Reply
      1. thejedilibrarian

        I might give Star-Crossed a chance, I surprisingly got into a few of The CW’s other new shows (The Tomorrow People, Reign, The Originals). Almost Human is great! I loved the Han Solo reference Kennex did in what episode where he was all “Boring conversation anyway.”

        You’re welcome. Do you remember Felicity? It was stared Kerrie Russell and was set at a university, but it only lasted a couple of seasons. We need something like it again.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I also got in a few CW new besides Star-Crossed (or almost new) shows. I love the new Beauty and the Beast and I got sucked into the Tomorrow People (I find that they’re really finding their pace and have a solid development). I tried Reign but I couldn’t bear even the whole pilot. Oh yes the Han Solo reference! I always love good references in a show and/or movie!

          I didn’t watch Felicity and had forgotten it was actually set at a university. I agree we need more shows in such a setting again!

          Like

          Reply
          1. thejedilibrarian

            I didn’t try Beauty and the Beast last season. I too got sucked into Tomorrow People, and I agree with the development. Last week had a great OMG moment at the end. I like that they don’t reveal too much at once. I’m a sucker for a period drama, so I’ve been DVRing Reign. Last week I watched the first and second episode one morning before work, I marathoned the next 9 the next day and could not bring myself to stop. I’ve heard it called Gossip Girl + Game of Thrones + The Tudors. The death toll keeps climbing (a couple of beheadings, a murder or two or is it six I lost count, attempted murder, etc) and I love seeing Anne of Green Gables as the back stabbing, vindictive Queen Catherine. But I can see why it wouldn’t be for everyone.

            I didn’t watch Felicity either, I was a bit young for a show about university at the time, it seemed like so far away for me. Now I can’t believe that university was five years ago!

            Like

            Reply
            1. Natacha Guyot Post author

              If you try Beauty and the Beast, let me know what you think! I tried it when the second season had already started (though watched from the pilot) and really loving it so far. I’m curious to see where they take things in the Tomorrow People. I can enjoy a good drama piece, but to me Reign was just boring and I didn’t like most of the cast. The only thing it made me want to do was rewatch The Tudors. I am glad that you are enjoying it though! Your marathon reminds me of my reaction when I tried Almost Human!

              Like

              Reply
              1. thejedilibrarian

                I have to see The Tudors, but I didn’t get the channel it was on and I don’t have Netflix for anything like that. It’s my plan to watch it one day, and I’ll have to give Beauty and the Beast a try too one day.

                Like

                Reply
  2. Grateful Geek

    After watching the Pilot I’m interested to see how this show plays out. Yes it has typical cheesy teen drama, but I am loving the sci-fi aspects of the show and the underlying plot is pretty decent.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

