You Know That Thing Sitting On Your Desk: Your Brain…

For the past few nights, I had my brain stop by for a chat. Every time she (yes, my brain is female) showed up when I was trying to go back to sleep; but no, no, no…. The crazy thing wanted to tell me about all those wonderful ideas she had to share right there and then. Don’t misunderstand me. I am grateful for my very active brain and the great ideas she can come up with. I just with that she could have a different (and better!) sense of timing.

Anyway, she started to get excited again about the two projects I have on the to-do list: the next chapter for my book Women in Science Fiction Television, and the guest lecture about vidding from a narrative perspective. If she sticks around after the two week break I took to recharge, I shall be able to work on the chapter introduction this week, and maybe even more. I’ve been saying that for a few days, but I feel that I’m feeling much better after having spend a lot of time resting and reading personal and spiritual growth books.

To get back into the swing of things, my beloved brain brought peace offerings in the form of the complete structure for the next book project I want to work on and seek a publisher for: the one about Dana Scully from the X-Files. I now have a three part structure with each section including three chapters as well, and a main introduction and conclusion. And the whole thing makes sense and works. I am extremely excited about that project and have high hopes for it.

That was why I felt compelled to post an older Scully video of mine, which goes back to 2007. Focused on Scully’s faith, including both cancer and Emily narrative arcs, this video is still a very personal one and still speaks to me after six years. Music is Let Your Light Shine by Bethany Dillon, which is also an all time favorite tunes of mine.

6 thoughts on “You Know That Thing Sitting On Your Desk: Your Brain…

  1. ahamin

    I know how you feel… My brain barges in at the most inconvenient timing… But she (yes, my brain is a girl too… Well… An old woman actually) always leaves me with a gift.
    Happy writing πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Brains must have a special timezone, foreign to their owners’! At least they leave us with a gift! And thank you! Very happy to be getting back into writing after that needed break. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jess Buhler

    I love how you posted this the day after I went on a search to see if I could find this vid of yours. πŸ˜€ My brain has been off on an X-Files kick and I really wanted to rewatch it. Thanks for putting it up here!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Oh my! That’s really good timing! I’m glad that you still enjoy this video! πŸ™‚ I don’t repost that many ‘older’ videos, but a few special ones, like this Scully one, have their place on the channel.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

