Books Read in 2013

Since July, I have only read a handful of books, because I have been a slow reader. I was more focused on writing than reading – at least actual books, since I browse through previously read books or new ones every time I need specific quotes for academic papers and chapters. A month ago I picked The Host by Stephenie Meyer, whose first few chapters I had read while visiting a friend in June. The novel is 619 pages and a couple of days ago, I still had almost 500 pages left to read. I have a pet peeve: I don’t like reading a book over two calendar years, even if I finish it in early January. It might be silly but that’s one of my quirks. So tonight, having 350 pages left, I was on the mission to finish it. And I did! Not only did I find the book captivating (I enjoyed the Twilight series but in my view it doesn’t come anywhere close to this one in quality. The Host is one of my favorite books read this year!) I also decided against checking the movie adaptation because the main cast just goes completely against how I picture the cast, and I find them all way too young!

Anyway, since I am all caught up with reading for this year, as I am hoping to maybe sneak in a final video before the new year, I decided to make my recap reading post here. So, without further ado, here is the list of the forty books I read in 2013:

  • Book of Sith – Daniel Wallace
  • The Clone Wars: Gambit – Siege – Karen Miller
  • Buffy: The Harvest – Richie Tankersley Cusick
  • Buffy: Halloween Rain – Christopher Golden and Nancy Holder
  • Buffy: Coyote Moon – John Vornholt
  • Buffy: Bad Bargain – Diana G. Gallagher
  • Illuminati: de l’industrie Rock à Walt Disney – Laurent Glauzy
  • The Power of Six – Pittacus Lore
  • Buffy: One Thing Or Your Mother – Kirsten Beyer
  • Buffy: Immortal – Christopher Golden
  • Que reste-t-il du cinéma? – Jacques Aumont
  • Coruscant Nights III: Patterns of Force – Michael Reaves
  • The Witcher: The Last Wish – Andrzej Sapkowski
  • Buffy: Sins of the Father – Nancy Holder
  • Get Out of That Pit: Straight Talk about God’s Deliverance – Beth Moore
  • Star Wars: Knight Errant – John Jackson Miller
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Hidden Past – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Mark of the Crown – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Defenders of the Dead – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Uncertain Path – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Captive Temple – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Day of Reckoning– Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Shattered Peace – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Deadly Hunter – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Evil Experiment – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Dangerous Rescue – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: Deceptions – Jude Watson
  • Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
  • New Moon – Stephenie Meyer
  • Eclipse – Stephenie Meyer
  • Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Ties That Bind – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Death of Hope – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Call to Vengeance – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Only Witness – Jude Watson
  • Jedi Apprentice: The Threat Within – Jude Watson
  • Star Wars: The Approaching Storm – Alan Dean Foster
  • Star Wars: Winner Lose All – Timothy Zahn
  • The Single Woman: Life, Love and a Dash of Sass – Mandy Hale
  • The Host – Stephenie Meyer

While the list is dominated by 22 Star Wars books, 7 Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Twilight series, it still remains quite an eclectic one. There are fiction and non fiction books, children, young adult and adult literature. I enjoy a range of different types of books to read, though I tend to favor Science Fiction and Fantasy in the recent years. In the non fiction books, I’d like to give a shout out to the last one I read: The Single Woman: Life, Love and a Dash of Sass. I discovered the author through a friend in 2012 and has been following Mandy Hale on Twitter since then. The book had been on my to read list for a while, but I really enjoyed it. I was a little wary at first because of the very girly vision it seemed to give of the single girl, but Hale’s writing is extremely compelling and I love what she says about life in general, following one’s passions, the importance of friends, family and faith, and working hard. It felt particularly inspiring with the path I am currently on.

I will now refrain from starting a new book until January 1st. Good thing is that I don’t have to wait for too long, especially with how I’d love to create another video before end of the year. I think I’ll pick the Star Wars novel Scoundrels by Timothy Zahn to begin 2014, except if another book catches my attention more amongst the ones I might get for my birthday tomorrow (well later today since it’s almost 1am and already December 30 here!)

8 thoughts on “Books Read in 2013

  1. hannahgivens

    Heh, I have that same pet peeve about reading books in more than one year. Pretty much failing this year though, I’ve got books I started in January that I still intend to finish.

    The Host was such a surprise compared to Twilight! It seemed to me like it had a lot of the same themes as Twilight, and there were things in it that bothered me similar to the things in Twilight that bothered me, but such a qualitative difference.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      Glad to know I’m not the only one with that pet peeve! I have a hard time reading more than one book at the same time. Even when it’s books for my research, I try to put away leisure reading then. It’s weird because I tend to tackle multiple tasks at once to be more efficient, but I like to focus on a single book or TV show (at least season) at a given time.

      I hope that if she writes more novels, Meyer will continue in the Host’s genre rather than in Twilight’s.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2014: Highlights | Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

