Back to Business

After taking a couple days break for Christmas,  my brain was running around in circles and I picked up my book project again. I’m not going full speed for writing, but I began work on the next chapter of my book Women in Science Fiction Television. This one about Aeryn Sun (Farscape), Susan Ivanova and Delen (Babylon 5) will actually be the opening chapter. I already set the detailed structure and jolted down some notes for each of them. The outline is a bit different from my original idea but I think it works better as such and gives more angles for my comparative analysis. I’m hoping to start writing the introduction within the next couple of days.

One of my Christmas presents was the Star Wars novel Scoundrels by Timothy Zahn. I didn’t get the actual novel yet, but I read the prequel novella Winner Lose All, which was Lando Calrissian galore, making me a happy camper! I’m still reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer, and I wish I could finish it by the end of the year, but having 400 pages left and being a slow reader those days, I’m unsure I’ll be able to! I’ll try though! Then I will pick Scoundrels. Of course, I also have the Yoko Tsuno last issue to read in between. And I’m not even starting to list all the pretty books I have lined up on my to-read shelf!

Tomorrow, I have a Skype work session with the producer of the web documentary who taped my interview last month, for a bit of a follow up. I’m glad that we can get it done before the end of the year. And I’m just making a happy dance because my amazing proof reader just sent me the latest chapter I had finished all edited!

On a final note, I am pondering on making some recap post of books read this year, as well as the progress I made with publications and also with the vids I created. I’m still trying to figure out a good way to do it.

4 thoughts on “Back to Business

  1. Helka Maria

    I’d be very interested in reading the recap post!

    I need to visit the library next week. Not that I need anything more on my to-read shelf. It’s just that your mentioning Yoko Tsuno reminded me that I’ve yet to read Le Maléfice de l’améthyste.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Natacha Guyot Post author

      That means I have to write it now! 😉 I have a few lists for all the mentioned elements, so it might be a good December 31 post! I was hoping to get another vid done by the end of the year, but unsure it will happen!

      I only read the first 5 pages of Le Maléfice de l’améthyste (since it’s the one I got). Did you read the Yoko Tsuno novel (L’écume de l’aube) that is set before the comic series?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Helka Maria

        Ah, no, I haven’t read L’ècume de l’aube. I don’t think it’s been translated into Finnish, and it’s not available from the library here in French, either. It’s a pity. I would like to read it, even if I had to read it in French.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Natacha Guyot Post author

          I was going to say you could borrow it from me, then I remembered that it wouldn’t work as an email attachment! I hope you get to read it if you get the opportunity. It gives great insight in Yoko’s character, and also ties to “La Fille du Vent”.

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

